Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Default pid equation

Pages: 1 [2]
Author Topic: Default pid equation
cintakc
Member
Posts: 1245
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 18, 2018 (GMT)

Is it possible to edit a default or built in pid in torque pro?
you see in the description of these PIDs on Wikipedia, there are no equations, since these parameters can be, most likely, different manufacturers of cars different, I think so standard pid can not be adjusted

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1245
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 18, 2018 (GMT)

I have written to you in the mail.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 18, 2018 (GMT)

While you can’t change Torque’s builtin OBD
pids you can however create your own custom
OBD pid

From main menu…

Menu>Settings>Manage Extra Sensors/Pids

Menu>Add Predefined Pid

Long Name: DPF Pressure?
Short Name: DPF Pressure?
Mode/Pid: 017A
Header: Auto
Min: 0.0
Max: 100.0
Equation: Int(B:C)
Units: kPaA?
Scale: x1
Diagnostic Start/Stop Commands: Leave blank.

crabber
Member
Posts: 19
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 18, 2018 (GMT)

Yes that is what I did to get the results posted earlier. I go “edit” from the manage extra pids menu then press “test” and note the result.

As said before somebody looked at the data to and from a workshop scan tool then made a custom pid from it for %.
This uses just the 10th byte from a possible 18, I cannot get my head around how you could possibly work it out without inside knowledge or being able to “sniff” the data from a factory tool.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 18, 2018 (GMT)

Trying to match ambient atmospheric
pressure and temperature.

As always if you knew what value you
are trying to match figuring the proper
equation would be so much easier.

I am using facts as provided by your posts.
Searching the web may help if someone else
has already solved this.

Since Torque identifies 7A as “DPF Pressure”
I am anticipating there are pressure readings
in your raw response. From what you reported
it looks like there is only one value being returned
which is close to x8000 suggesting a positive/negative
or signed value may also be possible.

Since Intake Manifold Pressure defaults to kPaA I
am hoping this is true for your pid. I have also seen
hPaA so that is why I suggest /10 or /100.

I am a little confused as 7A only returned 9 bytes of
data so can’t see where a % number using 10th byte
is from? % values are usually something like
Variable*(100/255). Then just confirm against
a known value.

Any pid equation needs to be calibrated to a
known value at some point.

So much for my train of thought.

Edit.

After a quick search…

ht tp://www.ram1500diesel.com/forum/ram-1500-diesel-tuning/1582-%5Bofficial%5D-torque-pro-app-thread-4.html

crabber
Member
Posts: 19
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 19, 2018 (GMT)

It is not surprising that you are confused as I should have explained much more clearly.
I really do appreciate the time that you are taking to help and so I will try to explain as briefly as possible, I hope you can understand what I mean.

Wikipedia shows a table of pids, this shows mode 01, 7A 7B and 7C for the DPF. Only 7C has extra information, it says temperature.

Torque pro has a default reading for DPF pressure but I have no idea what pid this is monitoring, that is why I have been asking how do we know the pid of a built in sensor. Is it 017A?

I have been experimenting with the response from 017A as this has been suggested on a Toyota forum as giving information about the DPF regeneration.

The % soot reading that I have mentioned is completely different, this has been reverse engineered from other scan tools and uses pid 2138. This one works fine.

I hope this has made sense if not please ask and I will happily try to clarify.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 19, 2018 (GMT)

The built-in pid is not complete until its
response is deciphered. (Just a place holder
until it can be solved).

The site mentioned in my last post appears
to have deciphered this pid and others and
should answer some if not all of your questions.

If you use Torquescan it will display the
pid associated with the long name.

Edited.

crabber
Member
Posts: 19
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 19, 2018 (GMT)

yes I have read and re-read that thread, unfortunately my vehicle doesn’t use the same pids. I have tested the same ones from that thread in the past and no response.

I am very interested in your comment that torque scan gives the pid with the long name.
If have understood what you are telling me I must have been using torque scan wrongly as all my scans begin 21, I have never seen it scan mode 01

Edit yes I think it has dawned on me what you mean, it is shown in the list before the scan?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 19, 2018 (GMT)

Torquescan when launched shows a list of
all the current pids known to Torque. Just
scroll through the list to find your pid of
interest..

DPF Pressure [7A]

The value within the brackets will show the
id associated with that long name. It can be
used in equations and properties.txt
commands used in theme making.

In addition, Torquescan can be used to poll
your vehicle for any pids that return valid
data that the user can then explore further
as a custom pid.

That site included the 7A that you were seeking
as well as 8B mentioned in the Ford 6.7 thread.

If your vehicle responds to these pids then you
should be able to use the information provided
to create your own version of the OBD pid(s).

As a side note, you can look under the Adapter
Status icon information to see a list of OBD
Pids (Mode 01) supported by your vehicle.
(Though I am not sure how OBD pids not
known by Torque are shown. Their bits would
still be set as supported).

crabber
Member
Posts: 19
Post Re: Default pid equation
on: January 19, 2018 (GMT)

Thank you so much for your help, I didn’t fully understand the basics but it is becoming more clear now.
I will investigate further as time and the car being here allows.
I am also being given assistance by cintakc by email so will post any progress.

Pages: 1 [2]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.222 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter