Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » oil presure

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: oil presure
Zrock
Member
Posts: 28
Post oil presure
on: December 10, 2017 (GMT)

ok going to post this up again and see if i can get it working.. my oil pressure is all over the place. After fixing my cluster my oil pressure still did not work so i just finally got a new sensor installed today but torque still has not smartened up..
Depending on the day the oil pressure will read right when i start the stuck and then other times it will cycle from the correct reading to 110 and then back to 0 and continue this pattern. This is in a 03 silverado and most of the other gauges work properly like batt, temp, rpm, speedo. The few that do not work properly are oil, DTE, fuel level.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2856
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 10, 2017 (GMT)

I would be curious if more than one
module is responding to the same pid
and would look at the raw hex response
in the pid editor while it’s working then
when it’s acting abnormal.

Zrock
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 11, 2017 (GMT)

Well u lost me their…lol
Would adding torque scan straiten out some of the issues?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2856
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 11, 2017 (GMT)

I doubt it but I do recommend TorqueScan as
it provides viewing of pids known to Torque and
scanning ability.

Viewing the raw hex response will show you what
your vehicle is sending.

I would also look under adapter status icon
information to confirm there are zero errors
being reported.

You might also want to try with a different adapter
to see if you get same results. I remember some
Ford guys that had some pids working and others
not, which magically fixed itself with a different
adapter.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1438
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 11, 2017 (GMT)

Capp777, these are the answers in the terminal

Write: 010C
Read: 010C
48 6B 10 41 0C 0E 1C ED 48 6B 18
41 0C 0E 14 72 DC 00 00 00
>
Write: 0111
Read: 0111
48 6B 10 41 11 20 8E 48 6B 18 41
11 20 12 98 00 00 00 00
>
Write: 0101
Read: 0101
48 6B 10 41 01 81 07 E5 A1 35 48
6B 18 41 01 00 04 00 00 48 B1 00

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2856
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 11, 2017 (GMT)

Looks to me that two modules are
responding in that example (10&18).

Is that one long message or two that are
somehow joined? If it is one long message
maybe Rx addressing?

Are you able to test fuel level too? I”m
thinking DTE is relying on fuel level so
if one has issues then so does the other.

As always I could be wrong.

Edited.

Zrock
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 12, 2017 (GMT)

Gezzz now I’m really lost…lol…

Zrock
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 15, 2017 (GMT)

I feel the same pain as the guy in another post on here. Pay money for a app and getting support is a real pain. The guys that have helped thanks, but heck the developer does not answer emails.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2856
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 15, 2017 (GMT)

Zrock,

Did you ever try creating your own custom pid
and testing its hex response for oil pressure?

(Cintakc’s example was for Engine RPM and Throttle
Position).

To the best of my knowledge, OBD doesn’t have a pid
for oil pressure so I’m assuming its a predefined pid.

Ideally would like to see your hex response to
see if it looks the same way with multiple modules
responding in the same message.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1438
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 15, 2017 (GMT)

Capp,
you know how the checksum for the protocol is calculated VPW J1850?

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1438
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 15, 2017 (GMT)

I posted the answers in the terminal above
48 6B 10 41 11 20 8E
48 6B 10 41 05 40 83

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1438
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 15, 2017 (GMT)

thanks, i read

Zrock
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 16, 2017 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on December 15, 2017
Zrock,

Did you ever try creating your own custom pid
and testing its hex response for oil pressure?

(Cintakc’s example was for Engine RPM and Throttle
Position).

To the best of my knowledge, OBD doesn’t have a pid
for oil pressure so I’m assuming its a predefined pid.

Ideally would like to see your hex response to
see if it looks the same way with multiple modules
responding in the same message.

No i have not as i don’t have time to sit down and read up on how to do it then go sit in my truck and implement it. That and this thread is getting confusing with the other posts.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1438
Post Re: oil presure
on: December 21, 2017 (GMT)

You might search for terms crc 8 sae which was
mentioned in Wiki?

Capp777, I wrote a program for calculating the checksum for the SAE protocol J1850
I checked that the checksum at the end of the message of each block corresponds to the standard count, but the calculation of the common CS for 2 blocks does not coincide with this algorithm
https://yadi.sk/d/o9EM5voL3QpU6P

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.321 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter