Torque

Forums

Forums

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.

Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Fiat 500e issues

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Fiat 500e issues
jstinson1
Post Fiat 500e issues
on: August 29, 2017 (GMT)

I’m using a BAFX wireless reader (https://bafxpro.com/products/obdreader) with Torque Pro and attempting to read data from a Fiat 500e (2015). After attempting to connect the Torque app to the vehicle, the dash will flash ESC and RBS error lights as well as bring up Hill Hold Assist failures. This doesn’t happen immediately–it’ll take about 30 seconds of attempting to connect to the car (connection from adapter to phone is quick).

I’ve been using this adapter + Torque Pro for the past two years as a quick reader solution across many diff’t vehicles (BMW i3, E39, E46/Chrysler Pacifica/Volvo XC90, C60/Audi A3, A4/Toyota Prius/etc) and it’s always been a champ. Not our most expensive OBD tool in the arsenal, but quick, easy and reliable.

I’d tried this combo on the 500e about 1.5 years ago and it caused that same set of codes (and required a trip to the dealer to clear). At the time, I’d chalked it up to a limited vehicle architecture (only avail in CA, limited numbers) and perhaps Torque not yet updated to support. However, we had a need to read out codes recently and thought I’d give it another try. Same issue.

Has anyone else out there had any luck with Torque and the Fiat 500e (note this is the EV platform, not the ICE)? It’s possible the reader is at fault, but it’s definitely a legit reader that hasn’t given us any issues on any other platform for over three years (including other FCA products).

cintakc
Post Re: Fiat 500e issues
on: August 29, 2017 (GMT)

Most likely on your auto protocol is ISO 15765-4 29/500
and you need “Diagnostic start command” to start a communication session 1003

jstinson1
on: August 31, 2017 (GMT)