Torque

Forums

Forums

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.

Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Ford Misfire PIDs--ALMOST solved...

Pages: [1] 2 3
Author Topic: Ford Misfire PIDs--ALMOST solved...
s_tooz_123
Post Ford Misfire PIDs--ALMOST solved...
on: August 19, 2017 (GMT)

I’m new to Torque customization, so forgive me if I missed anything obvious. I have been wrestling with retrieving cylinder specific misfire information from my ’03 Ford F-150. I have searched this and other forums and it appears that this is problematic for many users (search “Ford misfire” in this forum and you will see many posts on this topic).

My Setup:
-OBDLink MX,
-TorquePro 1.8.158 running on an Anrdoid tablet

I tried the Ford Preloaded Extended PIDs but they do not work for my ’03 Ford as they use Mode 22 (I think Mode 22 is only applicable for model year ’06 and later). My ’03 uses OBD Mode 06.

I have configured a custom PID:

PID: 065301 (Mode 06, TID 53, CID 01 for cylinder 1)
Name: Misfire, Cylinder 1
Min Val: 0
Max Val: 1000
Scale: x1
Unit: (blank)
Equation: (C*256)+D
Header: (blank)

I received a response, but instead of a single line response for cylinder #1, I received a response for all eight cylinders:

COMMAND:

RESPONSE:
46530100003D01
46530200003D01
46530300513D01
46530400003D01
46530500003D01
46530600003D01
46530700003D01
46530800003D01

Unfortunately, it turns out the variables C and D are evaluated for the last line in the response only (cylinder 8). To verify that the variables were for the last line, I updated the custom PID with the following equation (just so I could see all the byte assignments):

Updated Equation: A+B+C+D+E+F+G

Using the equation above, I was able to verify the values equated to the last line of the multi-line response (note the “08” in variable B):

A=0x53
B=0x08
C=0x00
D=0x00
E=0x3D
F=0x01
G=-1 (beyond the number of bytes in the last line of the response…this was expected)