Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » When custom PIDs don't work, where do you start?

Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: When custom PIDs don't work, where do you start?
nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post When custom PIDs don't work, where do you start?
on: March 21, 2017 (GMT)

I created the custom PIDs per: https://torque-bhp.com/forums/?wpforumaction=viewtopic&t=2739.0

But they each show a dash(“-“). Since they all look perfect, what is the next steps in debugging?

The OEM Hybrid display is kinda worthless. No details. The wheels rotate when moving but you probably know that by looking out the window.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 21, 2017 (GMT)

Two things come to mind…

1. The first pid in your link is missing a paren.

2. What header is being used?

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

I balanced the paren’s in both cases.

“2. What header is being used?” What do you mean? Where does it go? I don’t see a header data entry point.

I did use “2240D2” as 2240D2 for the Hybrid battery Current.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

The OBD Header field is right after the
equation field in the pid editor.

I would test while still in the pid editor
to view the vehicle’s raw hex response
to see if it was successful or not.

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

The last field I see is the equation field. Under that is CANCEL and OK.

I’m “playing” with the free version to see what it does and how well it works. Is the Paid version different in regard to editing custom pids?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

Sorry, I’ve been using Torque Pro from
the beginning so not up on the differences.

The ability to specify the OBD Header must
be a difference. Also there are more frequent
features added and bug fixes. IMHO it is well
worth paying for Torque Pro and supporting
the developer (Ian).

Just look at the first post of the pinned changelog
thread to see what’s been done in Torque Pro
but not likely to the free version.

(Just another Torque Pro user).

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

Thanks for the help Cap777

The only reason I want Torque, or similar, is to get access to the traction battery info. GM didn’t make it available on the hybrid display which is mostly a pretty picture.

Too often I purchased things that in the end didn’t do the purpose I needed or was advertised. Not saying that is the case with Torque. I was just checking its functionality before I bought. I’ll pay up to see if it works better.

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

I purchased the PRO version and to those reading and wondering, PRO is substantially different than Lite. And per above conversation, there are additional fields to fill in when configuring custom PIDs.

Now to see if I can get what I want …

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

So not making much progress. I do get an indication that my OBD interface is faulty. But the main screens do work and I’m getting data.

I created the following three :
“Hybrid Battery Current”,”HBCurrent”,”0x2240d2″,”(SIGNED(A)*256)+B/20″,-100,100,”Amps”,”AUTO”,””,””,1
“Hybrid Battery Pack Volts”,”HBVolts”,”0x2240fe”,”((A*256)+B)/10″,240,360,”Volts”,”AUTO”,””,””,1
“Hybrid Battery SOC”,”SOC”,”0x222411″,”A*100/255″,0,100,”%”,”AUTO”,””,””,1

None are reporting data.

So I opened the SOC PID and clicked TEST:
– sent: 22241
– Rec’d: 7F2231

Then I deleted AUTO and the rely I got was
– 622411F
– 622411F

Are there any error logs? I started logging but it only logs the trip and the points I selected which all show dashes.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

Quote from nkemp on March 22, 2017
So not making much progress. I do get an indication that my OBD interface is faulty. But the main screens do work and I’m getting data.

I created the following three :
“Hybrid Battery Current”,”HBCurrent”,”0x2240d2″,”(SIGNED(A)*256)+B/20″,-100,100,”Amps”,”AUTO”,””,””,1
“Hybrid Battery Pack Volts”,”HBVolts”,”0x2240fe”,”((A*256)+B)/10″,240,360,”Volts”,”AUTO”,””,””,1
“Hybrid Battery SOC”,”SOC”,”0x222411″,”A*100/255″,0,100,”%”,”AUTO”,””,””,1

None are reporting data.

So I opened the SOC PID and clicked TEST:
– sent: 22241
– Rec’d: 7F2231

Then I deleted AUTO and the rely I got was
– 622411F
– 622411F

Are you getting the header bytes before the 6224…?

7F… is an unsuccessful message while the 62… responses
are typically returning data.

It looks like you are sending five chars not the six
given. Is this just a typo on the post?

I would expect something like…
…622411xx where xx equals byte A.

Its possible your faulty adapter maybe messing
up your responses. My working adapters show
zero errors when in use. (I use BAFX BT Elm327 and
OBDLink MX adapters).

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

“It looks like you are sending five chars not the six
given. Is this just a typo on the post?”
Yes … typo.

“Are you getting the header bytes before the 6224…?”

Nothing. The testing screen indicates “no response”, It lists the command (222411) and the two 622411F are listed

Nothing like “622411xx where xx equals byte A.”

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

It might be your adapter has the display
of headers turned off by default. There
are Elm specific commands for turning
headers ON/OFF (ATH1 and ATH0
respectively). But that still doesn’t solve
your response issue. A data byte is 8 bits
represented by 2 hex chars. e.g., FF=255
decimal. Not a single F.

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

More data points …
I decided to put some of the predefined PIDs on a display. Such as Fuel Tank pressure, ABS FLW & EGR V. They did not provide any data.

The pre-populated screen with Revs, Speed, Coolant, Accel, Throttle & Vacuum all work fine.

Something about the gauges I’m adding don’t work.

But it does imply that the OBD BT adaptor works well enough for the std gauges.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

If you look under the Adapter Status icon functions
it will show a list of available OBD Mode 01 pids
available as reported by your vehicle.

The adapter errors are still suspect to me. There were
several recent threads about Fords owners getting
some pids to work but not others which turned out
to related to a bad adapter.

If I can find link to one I’ll try to post link.

https://torque-bhp.com/forums/?wpforumaction=viewtopic&t=8472.0

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

I just added a PID from the list you mentioned and it did display the relevant data.

It could be the OBD interface.

With the vehicle in the run position (but engine off), as I scrolled through the list, some items were green and had data. I interpreted the message “greenb = active” as pertaining to gauges already selected for display. Might that mean that only the green ones are connected and receiving data?

UPDATE: I just ordered a BAFX unit. Will be here in a couple days.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 22, 2017 (GMT)

Thats my understanding…green is active
and receiving data.

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 24, 2017 (GMT)

I got the BAFX adaptor and:
– I still get the faulty OBD interface module message on the Torque screens.
– It connects OK and displays some of the data as before
– The SOC does not work. I presume that the info provided in the link at the top is good but don’t know how to check.

In other words, this OBD interface module woks as did the first. No progress.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 24, 2017 (GMT)

Are there any issues with the DLC connector?
Bent pins, etc.?

Two different adapters are reporting errors
so there is something going on. Have you tried
using on a different device in case of bluetooth
driver issue?

Hopefully Ian will respond and get you to send
him a debug log where he might be able to
identify the errors further.

nkemp
Member
Posts: 33
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 24, 2017 (GMT)

I went out and “putzed” with it and the error cleared. I think I cleared the BT connections and then reconnected. I think the problem was that it maintained the original interface error and did not clear with the new interface. But that is just a theory. Anyway, for now, the error message is gone.

Now to figure out the PID. I realize Hybrid Tahoes (& Yukons) are pretty rare. Hopefully someone who has got the PIDS to work or not chimes in.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2741
Post Re: When custom PIDs don
on: March 24, 2017 (GMT)

You were getting 622411 responses before so you might
want to TEST again to compare without the error(s).

There is also an OBD Mode 01 pid for
Hybrid Battery Charge (015B) included
in Pro. You might want to TEST it as well.

Edited.

Pages: [1] 2
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.408 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter