Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Misfire data not displayed

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Misfire data not displayed
tcanthonyii
Member
Posts: 5
Post Misfire data not displayed
on: February 27, 2017 (GMT)

I’m new to the app and am generally an iPhone user but I’m playing with an android adapter and a samsung S3. I’m an IT guy by trade so I like playing with this stuff.

Anyway on my 2007 GMC Sierra I’ve been playing with the misfire counters. My hope is that I can get everything setup for my stepdad to work on his Trailblazer that’s had some issues.

Anyway I added the misfire counters to realtime. I added the current and historical. All 8 cylinders read 0.0. No big deal except that in torque scan I watched cylinder 4 get 2 misfires then zero themselves out in historical. In test results the mode6 data shows misfires on 3 cylinders, less than 10 but they are still there.

Whats the difference? Is it possible to add a mode6 counter to realtime? I have not figured out how. This would be more useful to me. Is this a bug or user error?

tcanthonyii
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Misfire data not displayed
on: March 2, 2017 (GMT)

Anyone?

tcanthonyii
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Misfire data not displayed
on: March 14, 2017 (GMT)

So I played with this again today. The counts show up until the next check then disapear. How do i change the calcultion to keep them going?

F-150Torqued
Member
Posts: 413
Post Re: Misfire data not displayed
on: March 14, 2017 (GMT)

I know nothing about how GM treats the OBDII counters it maintains for misfires. My Ford doesn’t maintain single PIDs for individual cyl misfire counters. But Mode 06 report gives total count on each cylinder for both the current and the last ten drive cycles. I would ‘think’ the same Mode 06 report would be available on GM vehicles.

Other than that, I have used a ‘virtual PID’ as a memory variable to create my own ‘counter’ in Torque Pro, then display the virtual PID on a gauge. A good ole’ fellow IT guy should be able to think of lots of good uses for that. Lol

—————

54371019

tcanthonyii
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Misfire data not displayed
on: March 23, 2017 (GMT)

I am the good ol IT guy….. Not a programmer though.

I wish I could get mode 6 data into the dashboard. that would be the best feature yet. Most of what I want, atleast on the newer vehicles is in mode 6. Custom PID’s are nice though for other things though.

F-150Torqued
Member
Posts: 413
Post Re: Misfire data not displayed
on: March 24, 2017 (GMT)

Exhaustive research on my Ford suggests to me that GM probably keeps more stuff in the PCM than meets the eye of a casual viewer. Regrettably it doesn’t help as far as GM, but I have managed to uncover -with considerable effort- about 400 more than those included in the Torque Pro Extended PIDs. Literally everything imaginable – such as Tire Size (rotations/mile), and deferential gear ratio.

But many that it seems like GM should also store: IE:

Total Count of Misfires
Number of Drive cycles – since last misfire
RPM at time of last misfire
Engine Load at time of last misfire
Misfire Monitor status
Misfire Profile Learned in KAM status
In PARK at time of last misfire
Vehicle Speed at time of last misfire
IAT at time of last misfire
Soak Time at time of last misfire
Throttle Position at time of last misfire
Engine Run Time at time of last misfire

I have not tried to search for GM PID lists, but would be interested if a like lineup for GM is available somewhere.

—————

54371019

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2744
Post Re: Misfire data not displayed
on: March 24, 2017 (GMT)

Quote from tcanthonyii on March 23, 2017
I am the good ol IT guy….. Not a programmer though.

I wish I could get mode 6 data into the dashboard. that would be the best feature yet. Most of what I want, atleast on the newer vehicles is in mode 6. Custom PID’s are nice though for other things though.

End Quote.

Have you tried creating a mode 6 pid? Would
like to know if this works.

Changelog entry:

Changes in 1.8.106 ======================

* Fixes for new theme flags on medium sized dials
* Updates to help prevent sensors from being ignored if an adapter glitchs
* Icon updates and small GUI changes in a couple of places
* Fix issue with push button ‘test command’ corrupting sometimes
* Fix issue with push button not working with Arduino board
* Mode 6 replies can now be read by user PIDs

End Partial Quote.

tcanthonyii
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Misfire data not displayed
on: March 27, 2017 (GMT)

Now if I could figure it out? I’m a network guy not a programmer. Guess I’ll go out and sit in my truck for a while to figure it out again. I tried before and couldn’t get it to work. Any help would me very greatly appreciated.

If it’s reading mode 6 you’d think it would be as easy as typing in the mode 6 number and it getting the same return value. I spent a couple hours on it the night I created this post.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2744
Post Re: Misfire data not displayed
on: March 27, 2017 (GMT)

I would guess its similar to mode 01xx except
instead of pids it is indexed by test ids
maybe 06xx? It would return a hex response
with its associated data?

Again this is just an educated guess and has
not been tested by me as my vehicle is OBDI.

(Just another Torque Pro user).

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.189 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter