Torque

Forums

Forums

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.

Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » cannot connect to ECu

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: cannot connect to ECu
cochin007
Post cannot connect to ECu
on: September 22, 2016 (GMT)

I am new to torque.
I am connecting using usb elm327 to Toyota yaris 2008 and vw golf 2015 but none of ecu is getting detected Any help? ..

cintakc
Post Re: cannot connect to ECu

Toyota yaris 2008
engine’s type?

piemmm
Administrator

Hi!

That’s usually an adapter issue (where both vehicles are known to support OBD2).

You’ll need to check that the adapter is working properly (quite a few of the cheap clones don’t work on every manufacturers protocol, even though they should, so you may find it works on one manufacturer, but not anothers and is quite a common problem)

If you’re in the EU/US then the vehicle *must* support OBD2 from 1996 onwards for petrol/gasoline engines (and 2004 onwards for diesel engines). If you’re outside of there, then you may be subject to different legislation

Also check that you have told the app to use the correct bluetooth OBD2 adapter in the settings (it’s possible you may have accidentally selected a handsfree or music streaming device)

The Adapter Status screen will show how far the app has got connecting to the adapter, and how far the adapter has got in establishing a connection to the vehicle ECU and can be useful for finding out where the issue is

cochin007

Quote from cintakc on September 22, 2016
Toyota yaris 2008
engine’s type?

2008 petrol..
i have ordered another bluetooth adapter.. all cheap ones since the expensive one looks like cheap ones.. I will try that also.
Current one is not blue tooth but USB one and i installed torque on my mobile and used OTG adapter.
I am in UK and this is UK model Yaris