Torque

Forums

Forums

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.

Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » wifi connection refused

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: wifi connection refused
ntence2
Post wifi connection refused
on: April 26, 2016 (GMT)

Hello everyone. I’m new to all of this and need some help.
I have torque pro installed and using a generic wifi obd adaptor. it was working this morning and for the last few days, but now it gives me the error connection refused in the bar on the top of the screen when trying to connect. the wifi is connected to the tablet and the IP is set to 192.168.0.11 port 3500. I have the software set to the same. its almost like something else is using the wifi connection and not allowing TP to connect.

Hoping someone know how to fix this one. thanks for looking.

piemmm
Administrator
Post Re: wifi connection refused

Hi!

(Haven’t seen any debugs yet – what id you put in the box that pops up(so I can locate)

The port is usually 35,000 (not 3,500 as you’ve mentioned above – going to assume a typo, just have to mention just in case)

Check that you can ping the device from the android device. If you can’t ping it then torque isn’t going to be able to connect to it

There’s a ton of ping apps on the market, basically you want to ‘ping’ the IP address to see if you get a response. That will tell you that your android device can see it ok

If it can’t, then it’s time to check the wifi settings!

Next, you can try to TCP connect to the port (basically ‘telnet 192.168.x.x 35000’)

Also, on the wifi adapters just like bluetooth, they only allow one connection at a time, so make sure no other apps are connected (or it’ll stop torque from being able to connect)

The WiFi connection type should be ‘infastructure’ mode, and not ‘ad-hoc’ (most android devices have issues with ad-hoc adpaters which are built for the iphone only)

ntence2

Thanks for your quick response.