Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Dyno section

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Dyno section
EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Dyno section
on: June 26, 2010 (GMT)

Hi ian thanks again for an amazing app…
I was wondering how the dyno section is coming along?
And if it’s close to being released as I can’t wait for this!!!!
Im sure you have been busy and your cat was in shop but was just curious as to how things are goin with this…
Also if you need any help testing this section out I’d be more than happy to help!!

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Dyno section
on: June 26, 2010 (GMT)

opps… meant to say CAR was in the shop not cat!lol

zr2ee
Member
Posts: 22
Post Re: Dyno section
on: June 28, 2010 (GMT)

There are a few apps that do this currently, try dynomaster. Using the obd readings for 0-60 and 1/4 mile would be cool though for acuracy

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Dyno section
on: June 28, 2010 (GMT)

Dyno is coming along ok, it’s about 2 to 3 version releases away. I’ve had a couple of cool ideas to do with this whilst doing it which may also make it in to that section.

Fortunately I now have my roadster back (had it for a week after 5 months in the garage waiting for parts) so will be able to actually test this properly without angering the gf using her car :)

2muchtech
Member
Posts: 11
Post Re: Dyno section
on: June 28, 2010 (GMT)

For zr2ee, using obd data for 1/4mi and 0-60 measurements does not work well due to the fact that the pcm measures wheel speed, not actual vehicle speed. For example, my SR powered 240 will hit 60mph during wheelspin in 2nd gear if I don’t modulate throttle properly.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Dyno section
on: June 28, 2010 (GMT)

Instantaneous Torque and HP readings should now be completed pending the next app release – I just need to test. If they’re something sensible then I will be finishing off the graphs and the ‘dedicated activity’ for dyno.

I agree about the wheelspin. Bit of a pain. At best you could check for wheelspin using the accelerometers in the phone looking for a large increase in speed and not in ‘G’ but that is about all you can do.

Saw a lambo at the weekend. Something huge like 335’s on the rear. Crazy.

2muchtech
Member
Posts: 11
Post Re: Dyno section
on: June 28, 2010 (GMT)

I’m not sure if it will work out for your app, but others use gps for speed and distance and gtechs somehow just use the accellerometer for these measurements. Hope everything works out, as Id prefer to just use one app for everything and not have to use my ipod touch for anything. Purchasing full version after your help on the adhock connection. Thanks!

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Dyno section
on: June 30, 2010 (GMT)

Sweet can’t wait for this next update really exited about this and how amazing this app is
Thanks for keeping us updated!!!!

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Dyno section
on: July 2, 2010 (GMT)

Right, the HP and Torque instantaneous reading displays are done and are out in the latest update (paid app only as this involved a lot of testing)!

The dyno section is still to be finished as I’ve hit a couple of snags to do with data resolution when trying to generate a decent graph.

Let me know what you think of the readings coming out – remember to get the vehicle weights as close as you can (including driver (& ICE) weight!)

This should be pretty accurate – You can use GPS or OBD to do the readings (OBD is automatically selected if you have an adapter connected). If you get no readings for OBD, then try to have only the HP and Torque dials visible on the screen as other dials /may/ cause the refresh rate to drop below the required threshold (unless you have a whizzy fast ECU)

Ian

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Dyno section
on: July 2, 2010 (GMT)

So far…AMAZING…only did a few runs with it on way to work.
I’m just tinkering with the weight..possible to have lbs as an option?
Numbers are looking pretty decent I will do a few more runs tonight and tomorrow.
So far I have found that 3rd gear is giving out the best readings for me (my longest great)
I saw you said your still working on graphs…i just added this to my list of things to logging (trying to figure logging thing out now..
Also would ber nice to see on display hp@ rpm’s
I was able to use the hp display and graph at same time on same screen as well as engine rpms coolant temp and intake temp on different screen
Would also like to see some type of uploadable dyno chart to say face book and such

So far amazing is all I can say!!!!!
Keep up great work!!!!

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Dyno section
on: July 3, 2010 (GMT)

Well I think I got it dialed in now.
Third gear is seeming to give best results.
Id have to say its pretty spot on.
Said my usdm honda civic si putting 170.5

Thanks again ian can’t wait to see how this develops more

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Dyno section
on: July 7, 2010 (GMT)

Hey was just wondering if any one else has used the hp and torque
Functionality?
What did you think about your readings?

Boosted240
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: Dyno section
on: July 10, 2010 (GMT)

Just got the app yesterday, running it on a Nexus One, with CM6 Froyo ROM. My OBDII reader is on the way. Tried to get a horsepower reading this morning, got 215. I doubt I got the weight exactly right, gotta look into it some more. Considering, it was 89 degrees out, 215 *could* be pretty close for a stock 350z.

Another option to help accuracy would be to figure in the drag coefficient for the car…

Boosted240
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: Dyno section
on: July 10, 2010 (GMT)

I think I was about 80 kilos to light on my weight, thats probably gonna make enough difference to put my numbers where they should be. I’ll find out tomorrow.

Gturdy5
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: Dyno section
on: July 11, 2010 (GMT)

Ok I tested my 04 G35x AWD weight @3919lbs with me in it,
temp at 87° it resulted at 202.5 hp on third gear pull that would
Net me a 27.5% drivetrain loss from 280 at the crank, seems ideal.

Gturdy5
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: Dyno section
on: July 17, 2010 (GMT)

Btw how is horsepower and torque determined?

geosynch
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Dyno section
on: September 26, 2010 (GMT)

Having some problems. I’ve searched and haven’t found the answer.

I have the paid version of the app, and I think the latest version (v1.2.19). I have the Droid using FroYo.

Most parts of the app seem to work great. I’ve used the data logging, custom pids, etc.

What isn’t working at all is the instantaneous HP, Torque, nor the 1/8 and 1.4 mi timers.

When I’m at a dead stop, the timers all show “READY” When I start to accelerate, the timers show a dash “-“. After I reach speed, I would expect them to show a time, but they just show an “X”.

Am I doing something stupid?

The instantaneous HP & Torque simply show a dash in the display.

I’d appreciate any help.

best,

geosynch

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Dyno section
on: September 26, 2010 (GMT)

Hi

Don’t stop accelerating once you hit 60mph – your speedo will be under-reading so when it’s 60mph you’re actually doing about 56mph.

Accelerate to 70mph, or until the display stops showing ‘…’, also if you decelerate during the 0-60 then the results are automatically invalidated because you didn’t ‘go for it’ :-)

S10_Guy
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: Dyno section
on: June 20, 2020 (GMT)

Hi,
Bought the app hoping there was a dyno graph feature (play store description)…
Couldn’t find one. I take it it was never released?

Have been trying Log Dyno but not finding it brilliant?
Any suggestions?

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.444 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter