Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Transmission temp for an Odyssey

Pages: 1 [2] 3
Author Topic: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
cintakc
Member
Posts: 1195
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 5, 2017 (GMT)

Take a screenshot of this PID test

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1195
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 6, 2017 (GMT)

try this
programm

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

Here are a few screenshots. Took a bit longer to get them due to being out of town.

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on May 6, 2017
try this
programm

Does this have trans temp in it? I tried out the free version and got the engine RPM to display but couldn’t find the transmission temp.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1195
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

In the profile settings, write the initialization string
atsp7\natshda1df1
Take again the screenshots of the test PID and screenshots two devices near
1 Coolant
2 Trans Temp

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2614
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

You also need to test raw hex response at
ambient (cold) and at temperature. Then
look for bytes that match expected temps.

Reread page one of this thread for more info
on testing. It maybe your variable may be
different than AA. (e.g., 0x79 and 0x61?). This
assumes your engine was warm based upon
your ECT.

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

I can’t add a screenshot right now but I did add the initialization string. That didn’t seem to make a difference in the output, still stayed at -1 but I did get this response when testing the pid:

Start Diagnostic Response:
OK
OK

I tried to pull up the files that were linked earlier in the page but it looks like they disappeared. However I did look at things after a cold start and after a 25 minute highway drive.

Cold Start:
Car sat all night
57.2F Coolant Temp
The HEX value in the 4th row that was 79 in the screenshot converted using the formula: 51.8F
The HEX value in the 5th row that was 61 in the screenshot converted using the formula: 55.4F

After the 25 minute drive:
The HEX value in the 4th row that was 79 in the screenshot converted using the formula: 183.2F
The HEX value in the 5th row that was 61 in the screenshot converted using the formula: 147.2F

I went through all other locations in the screenshot and none of the others stuck out as a good fit.

My speculation is the 4th row that had a 79 is probably the correct value for transmission temp. However, I don’t know how the locations are defined so that I can pull that into the formula. Can someone explain how the hex locations are defined?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2614
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

Start counting the data bytes only from A, B, C, etc. until
you get to your desired byte(s). Change equation from AA
to the variable which points to your desired byte.

A B C
D E F G H I J
K L M N O P Q
R S T U V W X
Y Z AA AB AC AD AE
etc.

U or V? for 0x79 position.

I would do the same for the 0x61 position
then compare side by side to the ECT while
driving.

If I counted correctly one of the 0x61 bytes
was at AA? AA equaled -1?
(In your screenshot above).

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

Does A start in the 2nd row and correspond to 02 in the screenshot?

I may not be following correctly but I am thinking it is:

2nd row
A=02
B=CF
C=00

4th Row
K=32
..
N=79

5th Row
R=61
..
T=61

However, you recommend U and V which is different than the N or T that I would try based on my understanding.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2614
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

The data bytes start after 622201 in row 1
not including flow control bytes in rows
following.

10…
21…
22…
23…
24…
25…

Up to seven data bytes in each message
following.

At least thats my understanding.

My earlier diagram is based upon my
understanding.

18DAF11D are header response bytes.
10 flow control
27 number of data bytes following (hex) ?
622201 response bytes for given pid.
FF FF FF (A, B, C).

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

I did some troubleshooting and it looks like it is pulling values much later than what is being explained. Basically I can only choose the last 4 values by using A, B, C or D. anything I can adjust to pull earlier values? Anything beyond D returns a -1, must be due to it going past the end of the data.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2614
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 8, 2017 (GMT)

You might try using Rx or Nx addressing
to see if you get different results.

R0, R1, … etc.
N0, N1, … etc.

I noticed the OP’s multiframe responses
look different than yours for the same
protocol?

0:…
1:…
2:…
3:…
etc.

The OP’s worked with Torque whereas yours
does not?

You might be dealing with an ATH1/0 or
ATCAF1/0 issue. (Headers ON/OFF and
CAN Auto Formating ON/OFF).

I would try turning Headers OFF and
CAN Auto Formating ON to see if your
multiframe messages will look like those
posted by the OP on page [1].

These are ELM327 commands on how to
treat the data. Should be able to read up
on details of ELM commands by searching
web.

Edited.

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 9, 2017 (GMT)

Rx or Nx didn’t seem to work either. Rx didn’t seem to be pulling relevant data that I could tell from anywhere in the stream. Nx matched up with the other method (N0=A…N3=D).

What would it mean if I am dealing with an ATH1/0 or ATCAF1/0 issue? I tried to look around at various settings and didn’t see anything that resembled that.

Thanks for the help so far!

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1195
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 9, 2017 (GMT)

repeat:
In the profile settings, write the initialization string
atsp7\natshda1df1
Take again the screenshots of the test PID and screenshots two devices near
1 Coolant
2 Trans Temp

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 9, 2017 (GMT)

Sorry, forgot to upload those yesterday. I didn’t notice much different with the revised string. I’m not sure if I captured what you wanted for two devices near coolant temp and trans temp. If there is something additional needed let me know.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1195
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 9, 2017 (GMT)

in this screenshot no device “Oil temperature A/T”

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 9, 2017 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on May 9, 2017
in this screenshot no device “Oil temperature A/T”

Not sure I follow the request. Do you want me to create a gauge for the custom transmission temp PID and include a screenshot of that? I can add a gauge for the custom transmission temp PID but I would expect it to stay at -41.8. The PID test screenshot was taken when the engine was running.

I also looked for the “Oil Temperature A/T” and didn’t see it in the list. I did see two other standard (not custom) PID options for transmission temp PIDs to add to the display. However, neither of those worked and one just appeared to be exactly the same value as coolant temp.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1195
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 10, 2017 (GMT)

You have created a new custom PID “Transmission temperature”
And must create a new device for this PID
Until you create a new device for this PID, it will not be polled by the program

https://yadi.sk/i/fSqiy06W3Hy5vz

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2614
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 10, 2017 (GMT)

Still curious if you tried what I suggested in
previous post…

ATH0
ATCAF1

It looks to me that Torque is parsing the
format shown on page [1] but not yours.
The message data looks similar for both
of you.

Based upon my readings CAN Auto formating
uses the x: layout.

I believe…

You are talking to the vehicle with the correct
protocol and baud rate, you are getting a proper
response from your desired pid, the layout presented
back seems to be the source of the Torque parsing
issue.

Torque has a history of not reading some users
CAN 29 Bit protocols but has worked for others
like the OP. I’m starting to believe its related to
how the CAN Auto Formating is set and the way
the multiframe data is presented to Torque.

My two cents and as always could be wrong.

TheHawke
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Transmission temp for an Odyssey
on: May 10, 2017 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on May 10, 2017
You have created a new custom PID “Transmission temperature”
And must create a new device for this PID
Until you create a new device for this PID, it will not be polled by the program

https://yadi.sk/i/fSqiy06W3Hy5vz

I’ll try this tonight!

Pages: 1 [2] 3
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.125 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter