Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!

Pages: 1 2 [3]
Author Topic: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: November 20, 2018 (GMT)

Two’s complement math eliminates the end
around carry of the Sign-Magnitude method,
which uses only one complement math, and
the two forms of Sign-Magnitude zero are
reduced to only one zero.

As always, I could be wrong.

1111 1111 (-1)
1111 1111 (-1)
==== ==== +
1111 1110 (-2)

0000 0010 (+2)
1111 1111
==== ==== XOR
1111 1101 (-3) Ones Complement
0000 0001 (+1)
==== ==== +
1111 1110 (-2) Twos Complement

0000 0001 (+1)
1111 1111
==== ==== XOR
1111 1110 (-2) Ones Complement
0000 0001 (+1)
==== ==== +
1111 1111 (-1) Twos Complement

0000 0000 (0)
1111 1111
==== ==== XOR
1111 1111 (-1) Ones Complement
0000 0001 (+1)
==== ==== +
0000 0000 (0) Twos Complement

The long list of data was provided as a
way to determine correct slope of the
equation by slowly twisting the distributor until
a P1345 DTC is triggered then comparing
its raw hex response at a known degree
against the posted equations.

I believe the latter equations are more likely
to be accurate.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Two%27s_complement

Edited.

F-150Torqued
Member
Posts: 404
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: November 20, 2018 (GMT)

Exactly.

—————-
54371019

RKCRLR
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: December 4, 2018 (GMT)

I’ve been trying to access the CMP on my 2000 K3500 7.4L using a Kobra bluetooth adapter with no success so far.

Car Gauge Pro couldn’t connect using the GM powertrain option (failed to connect to ECU). It connected fine using the generic OBDII setting but then I don’t have access to the GM extended PIDs.

I purchased Torque Pro and made a custom PID for the CMP per the instructions here. It just displays a “-” in the digital gauge readout. About 1/4 of the PIDs are green when I add a gauge – I’m assuming that means those PIDs are available since they have readings when I add them. None of the PIDs proceeded with [GM] are green or have readouts.

I installed the trial version of Dash Command and tried to follow the instructions posted by DCS to see if I have access to CMP but I don’t the little 3-dot menu button at the bottom right. But there are no GM specific PIDs in the PIDs available to me.

I figure either the Kobra adapter isn’t allowing access to the GM extended PIDs or the protocol is different on a 2000 K3500 (GM did make both the K3500 and the 1 ton Silverado that year). Which is more likely? I’m willing to either buy a different bluetooth adapter (BAFX) or Dash Command if that will solve the problem.

Thanks

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

Still wondering about DPIDs and if anyone
with a vortec has tested yet?

Can Torque Pro correctly parse 2A request
responses?

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1236
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

yes, it works, I just checked it for you
2a
6a 09 00 ff 34 56 78 65
R3 = 255

https://yadi.sk/i/k-fvQlIoSl5SEA

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

Thanks Cintakc.

Does the A, B… and N0, N1… addressing
work correctly too?

It sure is frustrating to own an OBDI
Jeep when trying to figure out Torque’s
capabilities.

Thanks again!

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1236
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

R3 = A = N0

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

In your example, I expected byte R2 (00) to be
A or N0. (The byte following 6A 09).

ATH1 example…

6C F1 10 6A 09 AA BB CC DD EE FF GG

ATH0 example…

6A 09 AA BB CC DD EE FF GG

Edited.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1236
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

R2 = 0
R3 = 255
N0 = 255
A = 255

I understand that in the program for query 2A, the header in the response is taken conditionally as 3 bytes

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1236
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

Capp777, Can I ask you a question
Can you tell me the solution to this problem, one person really needs it,
you need to fix on the device let’s say the maximum speed, that is, the speed rises for example to 67 km / h, then the speed starts to decrease, and the fixed maximum value of 67 km / h remains on the device

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on March 3, 2019
Capp777, Can I ask you a question
Can you tell me the solution to this problem, one person really needs it,
you need to fix on the device let’s say the maximum speed, that is, the speed rises for example to 67 km / h, then the speed starts to decrease, and the fixed maximum value of 67 km / h remains on the device

End Quote.

Are you saying the display is not following
the decreasing speed?

or the user is trying to lock the display at the
maximum value?

Assuming the max value was set by long
pressing display…then display config…
Set max value.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1236
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

Are I saying the display is not following
the decreasing speed

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

Trying to recreate…

Using a dial needle display and using
equation random()*75…

The max value within the pid editor gives
a starting range that will change with larger
values.

Setting max from display config will lock
display needle from exceeding its setting
but the needle did follow decreasing values
afterwards.

Changing same display to digital shows
values changing above and below max
settings. Even after exceeding max setting
values decreased properly.

So far have not been able to recreate issue.

For comparison function I have been testing
something like…

lookup(Val{Scaled MAP Factor}::0=A:1~2550=A*(Val{Scaled MAP Factor}/255))

where variable A is from [0b] pid and factor
is from another pid.

If Factor = 0 then
…Equation = A
else
…Equation = A*(Factor/255)
Endif

Edited.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1236
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 3, 2019 (GMT)

need for digital display type

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1236
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 4, 2019 (GMT)

Thank you, we also could not find a solution, it is a pity that there are no comparison operations in the program

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2674
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 5, 2019 (GMT)

Ian,

Will you be fixing the A, B, … and N0, N1, … issue
discussed above? Torque is off by one byte.

Edited.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1236
Post Re: GM Cam Retard Offset PID Found!
on: March 5, 2019 (GMT)

Capp777, thank.

Pages: 1 2 [3]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.103 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter