Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » General FAQ

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
Author Topic: General FAQ
paciok
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: General FAQ
on: February 22, 2013 (GMT)

Hi everybody
, I have purchased an ELM327 and installed on bmw X5 (year 2008).
It connects with my samnsung S3 and it seems to work with the app. But my issue is that only main parameters are transmitted (i.e. coolant temperature, boost pressure), but some others, like fuel status, air temperature, etc.) are not.
Which could be the cause?
Thank you in advance

cold m3
Member
Posts: 3
Post Re: General FAQ
on: February 28, 2013 (GMT)

Hey you posted a little back:

“I don’t know about this unit above, but I am currently looking at another type of unit. I would hold-off for at least a month as I may have more information on the best 2din unit that Torque will work with..”

Have you found any? Im looking at this one now(). it runs android from wince, will there be any problems?

cars, android

aestrada
Member
Posts: 8
Post Personal PIDs and ecuations
on: March 12, 2013 (GMT)

Why I can not make work my personal PIDs and ecuations defined in them? No matter if I put a current working header of a sensor that is a PID pre-defined by this app, and put a single A in equation, there is no way. Sometimes a warning is showed when I try to test the equation saying that the value is not allowed. Someone can explain me how to use A or B parameter, and how to use enclosed [] headers in the equations?
Thanks.

argus
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: General FAQ
on: April 9, 2013 (GMT)

Hi, just wondering what is the minimum screen size / resolution required for Torque?
Would 2.8inch 320×240 pixels be enough on an Android 2.3 phone?
Thanks

peb1
Member
Posts: 16
Post Re: General FAQ
on: April 9, 2013 (GMT)

Torque is working fine with xperia x10 mini (android 2.3.7 miniCM7) 😉

argus
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: General FAQ
on: April 9, 2013 (GMT)

Thanks for that.

firedog
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: General FAQ
on: April 19, 2013 (GMT)

Quote from engineman.b on July 31, 2012
Quote from GuamBomb on May 28, 2010
Hello,

I have purchased the app and have the OBDII Bluetooth ELM327. I am ahving trouble detecting the device.

I plugged the OBD on the car, lights are blinking red, yellow and green. My bluetooth on my moto droid is on.

Now, Torque says “No paired bluetooth devise set!”

I scanned for the device on my phone but no sign of the OBD2.

Here is the scanner i bought.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320539572843

Please help. Thanks in advance.

Hi, I have same thing, ELM327 mine says paired but not connected. Just stays there trying to connect. Any ideas anybody?

Turn ignition key on, do not start the engine.

byeboy
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: General FAQ
on: May 17, 2013 (GMT)

My Torque Pro has , once again, disappeared from my T Mobile (WalMart Family Mobile) Samsung Android phone. It has done this before. I re-paid the .99 last time, but seems like I got a refund from the app’s owners…Where do I find how to do that again…and why does it keep disappearing?

leonidbr
Member
Posts: 3
Post Re: General FAQ
on: May 18, 2013 (GMT)

Hello,
I have a problem: all connections – phone adapter and a car, but in the mode of dashboards, all the arrows on zero, the green dot lights up only in accelerometer.
What can be done?
Thanks

Hollidog
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: General FAQ
on: May 24, 2013 (GMT)

Hi all, after some help here.
First; specs:
2003 Subaru Legacy B4
HTC One M7
Latest Torque
ELM327 Bluetooth from herehttp://www.ebay.com/itm/Real-Smallest-Mini-ELM327-V1-5-Bluetooth-OBD2-Car-Auto-Diagnostic-Scanner-Tool-/310665614750?ssPageName=ADME:L:OU:US:3160

Plugs in to socket fine, connects over bluetooth fine, can find adapter in app settings (select BT Adapter)

All blue lights stay solid on main app screen, but no data comes through. Have tried to restart app and phone, no avail.

Anybody have any tips?

tarmo
Member
Posts: 4
Post Re: General FAQ
on: May 26, 2013 (GMT)

Right. So I have this problem.
I first tried out the Torque Lite version, which works perfectly. Connects to the OBD2 adapter so that tells me that everything works fine.
Now I wanted to try out the Pro version. This is where the problem starts.

When I open the Pro version, it automatically closes after about 6 or 7 seconds. Just goes to the android application menu.
But if I press any of those buttons, live data, search for errors and so on, the program restarts. Closes-black screen-starts again. And if I wont press any buttons it closes again.

I have no idea what the problem would be.
My phone is Samsung Galaxy S2 running the newest of android.

Can anyone help me or does anyone have similar problems?

rtschuck
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: General FAQ
on: May 29, 2013 (GMT)

Is there a way to display memory codes that don’t turn on the check engine light. Specifically a 2003 Buick with a P1811 code. I have two other scanners that show this code on this car but Torque does not. I like the other info it gives shith error and shift time.

sadlerdoris
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: General FAQ
on: June 24, 2013 (GMT)

Is it possible to make Torque create one big log instead of many? For instance – if I turn off my car and after a while start it and continue my trip – it starts to log from zero, but I want to record my whole trip (i.e. my week car tour in USA) total fuel, total mileage, total lite…
Thanks!

MoldCAD
Member
Posts: 34
Post Re: General FAQ
on: July 15, 2013 (GMT)

Today I tested Torque Pro with the ELM327 adapter from Amazon. Everything seems to work fine with my BMW 528xi, but I have 2 basic questions:

1. IS it OK to leave the scanner in the ODB socket for prolonged period of time (when parked in the garage)?

2. I noticed that my Samsung Galaxy S2 can be connected with both the ELM327 and my car’s iDrive (BT phone) at the same time, which is nice – but won’t it introduce any data lags/errors?

TIA,

Piotr

mustangtodd
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: General FAQ
on: July 17, 2013 (GMT)

HELP!! Hey everyone. I just downloaded the app, i have 2 logs created. How do i view the logs on my laptop with windows 8(sucks huge!!) How do i interface with my phone? i’m not too bad with computers. please send a link with how to do this or give me some insyructions. love the app, having fun.

todd

2003 CROWN VIC

crna
Member
Posts: 5
Post 2011 Chevrolet Suburban transmission temperature
on: August 19, 2013 (GMT)

I have a 2011 Suburban that I cannot get Torque to show trans. temp. even with GM PID’s. They are fixed at 32° with both methods. This vehicle has transmission temperature readout availability in dash cluster digital display, so I know the info is there. Any ideas?

anthonybenel
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: General FAQ
on: August 19, 2013 (GMT)

Quote from MoldCAD on July 15, 2013
Today I tested Torque Pro with the ELM327 adapter from Amazon. Everything seems to work fine with my BMW 528xi, but I have 2 basic questions:

1. IS it OK to leave the scanner in the ODB socket for prolonged period of time (when parked in the garage)?

2. I noticed that my Samsung Galaxy S2 can be connected with both the ELM327 and my car’s iDrive (BT phone) at the same time, which is nice – but won’t it introduce any data lags/errors?

TIA,

Piotr

In general, do not leave it connected as your OBDII scanner will drain your battery. However, if your OBDII scanner has a power save feature and turn itself off, then you can leave it connected. BTW, the app has no control of power draw.

anthonybenel
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: General FAQ
on: August 19, 2013 (GMT)

Quote from mustangtodd on July 17, 2013
HELP!! Hey everyone. I just downloaded the app, i have 2 logs created. How do i view the logs on my laptop with windows 8(sucks huge!!) How do i interface with my phone? i’m not too bad with computers. please send a link with how to do this or give me some insyructions. love the app, having fun.

todd

You can upload the logs to Torque/Ian’s website. Log in using the device ID (torque app).

anthonybenel
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: General FAQ
on: August 19, 2013 (GMT)

Quote from leonidbr on May 18, 2013
Hello,
I have a problem: all connections – phone adapter and a car, but in the mode of dashboards, all the arrows on zero, the green dot lights up only in accelerometer.
What can be done?
Thanks

When you launch the app scroll to “Adapter Status”.
1. Connection to adapter? – Y/N
2. Connection to ECU? – Y/N

anthonybenel
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: General FAQ
on: August 19, 2013 (GMT)

Quote from jimnluna on July 4, 2012
Quote from jfnewcomb on September 18, 2010
I really would like to know if anyone has tried to connect straight to a Android via a OBD interface using USB to the phone? I already own two cabled OBD’s for my PC but would like the idea of using my phone also while moving.

I tried and got no connection. Is there any way to do this?

IMO, get a bluetooth adapter. Works well depending on your adapter.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.58 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter