Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Trans temp, IAT, and MAP

Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
Author Topic: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
m j
Member
Posts: 92
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 13, 2014 (GMT)

Edit:
Your IAT temp registered 11.1 °F. Were
your actual temps that low?

nope, closer to 9°C here this weekend.
I am Canadian and grew up during the metric switch so I do not do °F, so until it is -40° where they coincide I dont have a clue what F means :) I do inches feet miles natively as easily as mm cm m km.

will check for response on that while I warm up the truck this morn.

m j
Member
Posts: 92
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 13, 2014 (GMT)

No response

MAFoElffen
Member
Posts: 27
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 13, 2014 (GMT)

Sorry, Off to class. But also busy inputting those new PID’s into my phone. I know I have an old iGO BT keyboard around here somewhere (miss it for this).

Various experience and interests

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2917
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 13, 2014 (GMT)

Quote from m j on January 13, 2014
Edit:
Your IAT temp registered 11.1 °F. Were
your actual temps that low?

nope, closer to 9°C here this weekend.
I am Canadian and grew up during the metric switch so I do not do °F, so until it is -40° where they coincide I dont have a clue what F means :) I do inches feet miles natively as easily as mm cm m km.

will check for response on that while I warm up the truck this morn.

End Quote.

If your overnight temps are reaching near 0°C (32 °F) try changing
the IAT intercept value to read about +2 degrees above actual
temp (34°F). This is a voltage check point if my info was correct.
Then see how well the span follows the actual temps over time.

Hopefully you will post the changes so we are all in sync with
the equations.

The IAT V will probably need correction once the temp readings
are correct.

Another screenshot at 32°F will help with that.

Edit:

If your setting preference is °C Torque maybe converting
the values before displaying. May want to leave units
out until this is solved.

IAT °C
(((A*256)+B)*-0.00206)+103.8 ?

IAT °F
(((A*256)+B)*-0.00370)+218.5 ?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2917
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 13, 2014 (GMT)

MJ:

TP V
Header: C410F1
Mode/Pid: 221154

EGR TP
Header: C410F1
Mode/Pid: 22096C

More pids that might
be tp related.

Edit:

TP V
Header: C410F1
Mode/Pid: 220917

TP V
Header: C410F1
Mode/Pid: 220918

MPD56
Member
Posts: 275
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 13, 2014 (GMT)

mj:

I’m also Canadian and there was only a very few places in Canada that were around 9º C the past weekend, you must have had sun screen on, LOL. Canada switched to metric in 1970.
It was funny at Christmas watching my kids explain to their kids, about Grandpa’s thermometer, it was even funnier when they asked how big my new TV was and I told them it was 139.7 cm, now they want to talk inches LOL.
At work I purposely leave out the units, some engineers don’t have to ask, thee others think I have a 139.7 inch TV.

m j
Member
Posts: 92
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

there is no EGR on the 7.3 diesel
I will try that PID after dinner.

MPD56
I am on the Wet Coast, we don’t like the cold here
http://weather.gc.ca/city/pages/bc-81_metric_e.html
I did Sept to Dec last year in Fort St John, -26°C in Oct and no end to the snow then it got cold :)
crazy job market up there, I will probably take another run at it.

m j
Member
Posts: 92
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on January 13, 2014
MJ:

TP V
Header: C410F1
Mode/Pid: 221154

EGR TP
Header: C410F1
Mode/Pid: 22096C

More pids that might
be tp related.

TP V gave a response, didnt change with throttle pos, constant 0 on the gauge
EGR tp no response

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2917
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on January 13, 2014
Quote from m j on January 13, 2014
Edit:
Your IAT temp registered 11.1 °F. Were
your actual temps that low?

nope, closer to 9°C here this weekend.
I am Canadian and grew up during the metric switch so I do not do °F, so until it is -40° where they coincide I dont have a clue what F means :) I do inches feet miles natively as easily as mm cm m km.

will check for response on that while I warm up the truck this morn.

End Quote.

If your overnight temps are reaching near 0°C (32 °F) try changing
the IAT intercept value to read about +2 degrees above actual
temp (34°F). This is a voltage check point if my info was correct.
Then see how well the span follows the actual temps over time.

Hopefully you will post the changes so we are all in sync with
the equations.

The IAT V will probably need correction once the temp readings
are correct.

Another screenshot at 32°F will help with that.

Edit:

If your setting preference is °C Torque maybe converting
the values before displaying. May want to leave units
out until this is solved.

IAT °C
(((A*256)+B)*-0.00206)+103.8 ?

IAT °F
(((A*256)+B)*-0.00370)+218.5 ?

End Quote.

Any updates on the IAT temps?

m j
Member
Posts: 92
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

will screenshot them this morning. ambient is around 9°C

I still cant get logging to work, but I did accidentally set it to upload logs everytime torque is connected to ECU.

I need a link to a logging tutorial

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2917
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

Frodus has a well written post here…

http://torque-bhp.com/forums/?wpforumaction=viewtopic&t=3950.0

m j
Member
Posts: 92
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

I got this on our powerstroke forum

“This thread is located at:
http://powerstrokenation.com/forums/showthread.php?t=299202&goto=newpost

Here is the message that has just been posted:
***************
mj I was using an older formula (((A*256)+B)*0.00314)+193.93 you posted on the super duty side of this site for my IAT F° for OBS. It seems closer to what I would expect for air temps. What’s your opinion? When I use the newer formula it is about 20° colder than actual outside temps.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2917
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

The first equation was based on info
I found and an assumption of 0-5V
response of your sensor.

The screenshot you posted earlier with
airport temps near 0°C didnt match the
the equation. (Your friend on the other site
had similiar results? which I had previously
determined that the 0-5V assumption or the
info was incorrect.)

Without two confirmed (high and low) readings
using the current equation, the span and
intercept values will need further adjustment.
(This has not been done yet).

I had found your powerstroke postings earlier
and had been watching for the tft v response.
(Both threads).

MAFoElffen
Member
Posts: 27
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

Got half of it inputted. I entered what I had, between classes. Forgot one page of it in the printer at home. Will plug those in today.

Then will test, depending on home work. Prepping for a db class this morning. Gosh. Trying to get into the swing of this again. Haven’t been in school in 30 some years…

Various experience and interests

MAFoElffen
Member
Posts: 27
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

Quote from m j on January 14, 2014

I am on the Wet Coast, we don’t like the cold here
[url=http://weather.gc.ca/city/pages/bc-81_metric_e.html

]http://weather.gc.ca/city/pages/bc-81_metric_e.html

We are relatively neighbors then. I’m across the border from you- in WA, USA. SW of Olympia. Just wet and windy lately.

I tested with using the “Y” cable, running Torque Pro and AE… I linked in Torque Pro first, then AE. Both connected and I was able to see live data on both… but then after a couple minutes… AE dropped com’s and disconnected. I was able to reconnect… then same. Torque pro stayed connected through the whole time. Then it had a slight miss, until I unhooked and reconnected the “y” cable physically. So I think, things got “confused.” I think they were both polling and cross-talked over each other.

So I think if I’m quick about it, I can check certain things to compare, but it is not really reliable enough to leave both connected and linked to the ECU.

Various experience and interests

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2917
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 14, 2014 (GMT)

Maf:

FYI,

The equations below have not been confirmed
yet and are subject to change:

IAT °F
IAT °C
IAT V
TFT V

Edit:

Both Torque and AE are probably using the same
default tester address of F1 which is probably confusing
the network.

Setting the tester addresses to different values may
overcome this problem. Just dont know if the apps
can handle the change.

Torque has a custom init string for elm commands that
other users have used to talk to their specific protocols
which may have an example. More research needed.

Does AE have a setting for tester address?

Ian, if you are watching, this would be a nice feature
for people with multiple devices…a setting perhaps
then Torque could set up the adapter before connecting
to the ecu.

MJ:

IAT V
((A*256)+B)/13168 ?

TFT V
((A*256)+B)/13168 ?

IAT °C
(((A*256)+B)*-0.00174)+89.65 ? Revised to use Greenwhite low end
digital thermometer data (52016 counts at 37°)

IAT °F
(((A*256)+B)*-0.00314)+193.34 ? Revised to use Greenwhite low end
digital thermometer data (52016 counts at 37°)

TFT °C
(((A*256)+B)*-0.00189)+95.35 ? Revised based on sensor data info

TFT °F
(((A*256)+B)*-0.00360)+212.98 ? Revised based on sensor data info

Note for Greenwhite:

14.55 psia Baro seems reasonable to me…
dependent on your elevation and weather
conditions.

m j
Member
Posts: 92
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 15, 2014 (GMT)

this mornings cold start
the Celcius temp is possible, the local airport was reporting 8° I think

will enter new formulas.

I put a regulator in the MAP line, I was thinking I had to set it with my air compressor but today I come up with I can use Torque and just lower the set pressure until it doesnt send the PCM in to convulsions.

if I want the EBP in psig..I can find the FF???? number from torquescan for Baro() and just subtract it?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2917
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 15, 2014 (GMT)

EBP -Baro() or -[ffxxxx] will give
you EBP in psig. (e.g., 0-28 psig).

Baro() is a function call that returns
the baro psia from mode 1 pid 33 or
from the phone if the [33] pid is not
available.

The Ford manuals usually refer to
absolute pressures in the self
tests.

The problem with [ffxxxx] is the
torque assigned address could be
different for each user.

The IAT temps wont match exactly
but should be within a few degrees
up and down the span. (with the
correct equation).

The TFT equations will probably need
work due to reaching 0 counts at 193°F
which is in the working range of your
TFT temps.

Edit:

Revised TFT equations based on sensor
data.

m j
Member
Posts: 92
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 15, 2014 (GMT)

testing the regulator on my street tune. this is a common occurance.

I think torque is getting confused and I get °C and then if switches to °F because of my preference settings.

a weird Canadian thing with temperatures is that I use °F when talking engine related and cooking temps :) but have no idea at what °F water boils at

look at the IAT low/high

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2917
Post Re: Trans temp, IAT, and MAP
on: January 15, 2014 (GMT)

Trick question… 212°F at 14.7 and
higher temps under pressure.
(pressure cooker) :-)

Are the higher IAT temps because your
sensor is hanging near something hot
while you drive?

Electrical noise? The transmitters on our
factory floor would sometimes spike if
someone nearby keyed a radio mike.

If Torque was confused… why would the
IAT °F be converted since it is already °F?
and the IAT V saw higher temps too.

You did appear to have °F units in the
IAT °C pid.

I have to ask… did you get ~19 psi at
1700 rpm for your EBP?

Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.473 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter