Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Torque Changelog

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15
Author Topic: Torque Changelog
Mickaty
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 11, 2022 (GMT)

Thanks for your reply. To test your theory, I installed Torque Lite on my Galaxy S21. I then proceeded to establish a connection with my OBD2 Bluetooth dongle. This was successfully achieved without issue. I can, therefore, say without doubt that my OBD2 Bluetooth dongle is functioning correctly and the update to Torque Pro has broken the Bluetooth connectivity. It seems whatever was done in the update to fix Bluetooth connectivity on other devices has, inadvertently, broken it on my Galaxy S7 Edge. Please can you find a solution? Would it be possible for you to supply me with the previous version if a solution can not be found? Thanks again.

On a side note: I have noticed that there are many reviews on Play Store that are saying the same thing. They have lost Bluetooth connectivity since the last update. Surely this must tell you something?

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 11, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Tested on the old S7 edge I have and it’s working fine – also tested on an S4 S6, and S9 and confirmed it’s working

Bluetooth at this level does not change between handsets or updates, so this will be an issue with how you have the phone/app setup if the adapter is working

Check that:

* You have told Torque what adapter to connect to in the main app settings

* That there are no other apps connected to the adapter as the adapters only allow one connection at a time (then will ignore all other connection requests) – if an app leaves the connection open, you will not be able to connect

* If you still cannot connect, switch to a ‘default’ vehicle profile (in case you have put some settings in there that are causing issues with your existing profile)

After that, you can check the ‘Adapter Status’ screen which will show you where the app is in connecting to the adapter (and what bluetooth device you have told it to connect to) – if you ever had more than one OBD2 adpater (or a previous adapter) connected to your phone you will need to tell Torque which adapter to connect to in the app settings again (for example if you previously had an adapter called ‘OBD2’ and replaced it with a new one with the same name, you will need to select the new one)

Lastly, make sure you’re using the latest version, which is 1.12.70 (also found in the adapter status screen at the bottom of the screen)

Mickaty
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 11, 2022 (GMT)

I’m sorry, but this doesn’t make any sense. Everything was working fine until the update. I haven’t changed the OBD2 adapter. I hadn’t changed any settings. I have tried unpairing and repairing. I checked the settings and reselected the OBD2 adapter. I’ve unplugged the adaptor. I’ve turned my phone off and on. Nothing fixes the issue. This can’t just be a coincidence??

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 11, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Other than the S21 – have you tried lite on the s7 edge which is where you are having the problem?

Mickaty
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 11, 2022 (GMT)

I haven’t tried lite on my S7, but I can give it a go. I’ll let you know how it goes. It will be tomorrow as I am currently at work.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 11, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Ok – it’s probably something simple – the OBD connection code is tested on a *lot* :) of devices before each big release to be certain it works which range from Android 4.2 to Android 12

None of the recent changes will affect older devices though as the issue was an Android 12+ bug – because of the way the APIs work there is no change on older devices

If you still have no luck, let me know as there are some debugging things that can be turned on which will give some more insight into why you’re currently not able to connect (it is usually something daft like the wrong OBD device or something like a custom header in the vehicle profile or wrong protocol being incorrectly set)

Edit: Oh, and also try rebooting the S7 – I’ve seen bluetooth drivers stop working on older versions of android which require a reboot to sort things out

diesel_dan
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 11, 2022 (GMT)

Boy have I had a day… I’ve run Torque Pro since 2013 with the same flawless BT adapter. I mainly run it for one specific vehicle (Ford Powerstroke 6.0) that is used infrequently. I’ve read every page of this thread and slowly gotten things “close”.

Torque won’t talk to my adapter any longer. On Edit: Torque is connected to the adapter, but not communicating with the truck (vehicle symbol keeps flashing).

Phone is Motorola Droid Turbo, Android 6

I’ve manually moved files and can now see all my vehicle stuff. Made sure all permissions are granted.

I downloaded the latest version of Torque Pro.

I’ve un-paired, re-paired, reselected in Torque, you name it to the adapter. The Truck’s CanBus has not changed. The adapter is verified to communicate between vehicle and phone. No other device is paired to the adapter.

It just won’t connect to Torque Pro. I’m buying a new phone in a couple of weeks that will have Android 12 (Samsung S22) – will a phone switch maybe fix this? I was hoping to dedicate the old phone just to Torque, so fixing this would be nice…

Thanks!

Mickaty
Member
Posts: 13
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

Torque lite connects OK on my S7. Tried rebooting, but Torque Pro still doesn’t connect.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Ok can you do the following:

Go into the app settings->Special settings-> and make sure Enable debugging is ticked

Then quit and restart Torque Pro

Wait about60 seconds for it to try to connect to the adapter and then, without quitting, go to:

Realtime Information->gear/menu icon->send debugging info

Put your forum name in the box that pops up(so I can locate your debug) and then press send – Let me know when this is dona here and I’ll look at the debugs at my end and see what’s up

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

Scripting is powerfull feature. Thanks!!!
It’s possible to use bitwise operators in scripts? Can’t handle this as is in classic java. Like this return ((b >> bitNumber) & 0x01);

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

https://commons.apache.org/proper/commons-jexl/reference/syntax.html

Is the page you want to be reading which has the current operators(etc) in which is what torque is based on

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Mickaty – can you download the .72 (or beta .73) updates and let me know how you get on – I’m not sure but if you’re using a BLE (not bluetooth) adapter then this may fix your issue

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

Can’t find there bit shift operators. Seems not supported

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

Created an issue on their site to request the improvement in a later release: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/JEXL-360

jermydean
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

I have a similar issue with my galaxy s8, after the updates i cannot connect with my vehicle. it just says “checking model….” before the update everything worked fine. i confirmed obd2 adapter is working. please help.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Can you:

Update to the latest version on the beta track (1.12.74) and try connecting again

diesel_dan
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

debug file sent, but I don’t think this is going to help. Yesterday the app was sluggish to connect via blue tooth to the adapter. Once it completely failed to connect (so both left adapter icon and right vehicle icon flash continuously)…

Today’s debug capture was another failure to even establish BT comms with adapter.

Let me know if I need to keep trying, or if you have other suggestions – I’d really like you to see whatever is going on when Torque has established adapter comms., but not able to talk to Truck…

On edit: One thing I did change yesterday in adapter settings, was I unchecked the Enable Faster Communication. This adapter has always handled fast comms – I have PID logs down to 1/10th second intervals and it’s handled no problem. Grasping at straws here…

On 2nd edit: For the heck of it I downloaded the Lite app and it can talk with the Truck…

Thanks!

jermydean
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

I downloaded beta, and still nothing. Under the very advanced config string section in the profile settings, if always used “atz” to make some pids work.
I left it blank this time, and it finally connected. But now some of pids dont work because I cant use “atz”.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

diesel_dan:

From the debug:
Connecting to OBD via bluetooth…
Connecting to: 00:06:71:00:00:06 OBDII
Standard bluetooth API connect
*** java.io.IOException:socket closed ***

Can you download the latest version (1.12.74) and see if the issue is fixed – the adapter itself is not responding to the connection – this means:

* Something else is connected to the adapter

* The wrong adapter is selected

If it’s the latter then you’ll need to go into the main app settings and *reselect* the adapter in there

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 12, 2022 (GMT)

jermydean:

ATZ will reset the adapter back to defaults after torque has configured it – this isn’t supported and will lead to things not working at all.

If you need to force Torque to ignore the checks, then put ‘ATI’ into the custom init (this will then cause Torque to bypass it’s normal checks if you have a non OBD2 compliant vehicle)

However, I could do with a debug from you so I can understand what is going on in your configuration as something isn’t right (and I suspect it could be adapter related, but a debug would help)

Can you (using the method that lets you connect, but PIDs aren’t working):

* Go into the app, settings->special settings->enable debugging

* Quit and restart Torque

* Immediately view (in the realtime information screen) the PIDs that are not working and wait for torque to connect, then leave it for 60 seconds

* After that time, press the gear/menu icon and choose ‘send debugging info’ – a box will pop up, please put your forum name in there and press send, then let me know here when you have done that (and the name of at least one of the PIDs that is not working for you so I can find it in the debug)

I’ll then have a look for you and see what’s up. Usually in situations like this a change to the custom init will fix things when non-OBD2 compliant vehicles are being used and I’m interested in knowing what the issue is (as I may be able to make it automatic, or offer some pointers, etc)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.075 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter