Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Torque Changelog

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15
Author Topic: Torque Changelog
bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 17, 2022 (GMT)

btw, there are new branch on issue JEXL-360, and interesting commit https://github.com/apache/commons-jexl/commit/9f768d75c5967e331d2c415e792ac15ef959655d
Seems soon we get very useful bitshift operators 😀

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 17, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Yes – is appears this is moving along now quite nicely.

The update to .81 is out which fixes your issues with the onSensor – also added a few more methods to the class as well: https://wiki.torque-bhp.com/view/Class:Sensor

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 17, 2022 (GMT)

Just tested .81, onOBDconnected still doesn’t work. Seems correctly works only init, main, stop functions.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 17, 2022 (GMT)

hi

can you send me your test script to ian@prowl.org

and also might be worth checking – it’s onOBDConnected, not onConnected

If you have a main method, it must remain running for onSensor and onOBD* to work – as in function main() { while(true) { forever }}

Or, if you delete the main method, then the on* methods will simply be called regardless

edit: looks like that was a documentation omission which I’ll get fixed – basically if you have a main method, then your script should be running. If it’s not ‘running’ and/or has finished, then there’s no reason to call the on* methods any more

If your script doesn’t use a main() method, then it’s more event-based, so the on* methods still get called

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 17, 2022 (GMT)

Oh, got it. I just remove empty main func and all goes fine :)

59 Morris
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 19, 2022 (GMT)

Hi,
I just updated to the latest Beta release. Some parts of the main screen now have scrambled backgrounds and the theme background image is also scrambled. This may be due to:

* Removal of legacy device workarounds for OS bugs(devices before Android 4.2)

as I have reported this once before and you promptly fixed it for me. :)

1959 Morris Minor Traveller
Restored and EV converted.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 19, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Hm – ok the test devices I had here no longer produce the corrupted screen, so I guess there are some more broken devices than I have here

I’ll get that sorted for you – apologies as I thought I had worked around that issue properly (a bug in those devices display drivers)

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 19, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

That’s now reverted and pending in the 1.12.85(not the .84 update which is due out as well which I have just overridden, so check versions in about an hour or so for .85) update which should fix the issue – please let me know the outcome!

Edit: It’s been approved now so you should be able to get it

59 Morris
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 19, 2022 (GMT)

<div class=”quote”><p>Quote from admin on February 19, 2022
Hi!

That’s now reverted and pending in the 1.12.85(not the .84 update which is due out as well which I have just overridden, so check versions in about an hour or so for .85) update which should fix the issue – please let me know the outcome!

Edit: It’s been approved now so you should be able to get it</p></div>

Problem fixed!
Thanks!!

1959 Morris Minor Traveller
Restored and EV converted.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 20, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Great! Thank you for letting me know!

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

in new torque scan plugin OBD Terminal don’t work. “Says command refused by Torque”. Allow plugins full access in Plugins settings is enabled.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

What command are you trying to send?

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

absolutely any.
ATI
ATRV
0100
for example

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

hi

found the issue – press the ‘send’ button(above the keyboard) instead of the IME keyboard’enter/newline button on the keyboard itself… missed that one. I’ll get that sorted in the imminent update now

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

I didn’t use the keyboard. I use predefined buttons.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Ok that should definitely work – what language is your phone set to (so I can replicate everything)

Edit: Updated app and plugin (1.12.87 and 2.0.3) and can’t reproduce the fault so hopefully this will work now if you update (added a multiline feature to the shortcuts as well in the terminal update)

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

i use russian locale. Just update and still command refused. Android 10 with MUI 3.0.0

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

Hi!

Is it possible I can get a screenshot of it in the ‘get lost’ refusal? it would help to see the terminal screen state

bibubip84
Member
Posts: 38
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

Send to your email.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6623
Post Re: Torque Changelog
on: February 21, 2022 (GMT)

Hi, thanks

The issue seems to be that Torque is returning nothing for the command run (this is interpreted as a permission issue) but could also be something odd with the comms. Looking at the code I’m coming up blank as it should simply be sending the command (unless the adapter/device is not currently connected to the app)

I’m going to need a debug log sent to look at this, but due to the speed of things you’d need to be quick – I might suggest turning off ‘faster communications’ so the info doesn’t scroll off the debug logging

Can you:

Do all the stuff to enable debug logging and restart the app (Settings->special settings->enable debugging)

Start Torque, immediately start the plugin and go to the terminal and wait for it to connect, then immediately use the ati shortcut button (incidentally you can long-press on these to change the shortcuts)

Immediately after doing that, go to the realtime information screen, hit the ‘send debug logs’ button and type ‘bi’ and hit send. Let me know when you’ve done this and hopefully I’ll then have the info I need to work it all out!

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.074 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter