Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Custom PID codes

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8
Author Topic: Custom PID codes
piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6081
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 19, 2011 (GMT)

Hi

Half the work is done in 1.4.63 (though I haven’t put the extended predefined list in yet) this version was sent to the Android Market today

I’d be interested to know if it starts working if you put one of the PIDs in yourself:

ModeAndPID: 2161
Long Name: MG1 RPM
Short Name: MG1 RPM
Min Val: 0
Max Val 5000
Unit Type: rpm
Equation: A
OBD Header: 7E2

(The equation is NOT correct – it is just so if there is a correct response, a number should come out which will be *great* *news*)

If someone could test this, and let me know if a number comes back (or even send a comms debug log then that will help a lot! (don’t forget to put prius or something in the description so I know who it’s from))

JayVee
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 19, 2011 (GMT)

Hi Ian,

I was about to ask for the predefined list for the Prius (as it should be released with version 1.4.63) when I found this.
I just added the PID for the generator and could report back later when I drive home from office.

Any special settings for the debug log?

Thanks and best regards
Jens

(Prius II – 2006)

dimakoff
Member
Posts: 18
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 19, 2011 (GMT)

tested the pid during my way from office to home.
The figure on the dash was 0 all way long.
Uploaded log file to the server. My id is 357779035529997.
06′ Prius.

idea
Member
Posts: 10
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 19, 2011 (GMT)

Wow, reading through this thread got me hopeful and very excited! Custom PIDs are coming for the rest of us… 😀

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6081
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 19, 2011 (GMT)

Nope no special settings other than you need the display visible on the screen after inputting the extended PID. After you have got a reading/let it run for about a minute, then, from the Realtime info screen, press ‘Menu->More->Send comms debug log’ put ‘prius’ or something in the description, press ok/send and I’ll have a look!

EDIT: Very important to put something in the description before you send! :)

Ian

idea
Member
Posts: 10
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 20, 2011 (GMT)

Reposting on this thread since its more active than where I originally posted :)

Can I make a usable extended PID for torque from the following data?

parameter id=”P36″
name=”Primary Wastegate Duty Cycle”
desc=”” ecubyteindex=”12″ ecubit=”3″ address>0×000030
conversions
conversion units=”%” expr=”x*100/255″ format=”0.00″

Here are a few reference data from the same source for a couple of standard PIDs:

parameter id=”P8″
name=”Engine Speed”
desc=”” ecubyteindex=”8″ ecubit=”0″
address length=”2″>0x00000E
conversions
conversion units=”rpm” expr=”x/4″ format=”0″

parameter id=”P9″
name=”Vehicle Speed”
desc=”” ecubyteindex=”9″ ecubit=”7″
address>0×000010
conversions
conversion units=”kph” expr=”x” format=”0″
conversion units=”mph” expr=”x*0.621371192″ format=”0″

Thanks!

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6081
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 20, 2011 (GMT)

Hi

It would appear not, the data you have there doesn’t match up with anything I can discern here. So I’m guessing some internal tables are used somewhere in wherever that came from

idea
Member
Posts: 10
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 20, 2011 (GMT)

Thanks for the feedback.

That came from the logger definitions file of Rom Raider. Will try to dig out the table that stores the PID hex codes…

As for the equations, does the A variable in Torque stand for the data answer to whatever query was made to the ECU? Just like the X variable from the above data? If so, is it possible to get a B variable and what would that stand for?

Thanks!

dimakoff
Member
Posts: 18
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 20, 2011 (GMT)

Uploaded something in accordance with your instruction.
Ian, please check.

I suppose, your MG1 PID is for III gen Prius (10-til now) but not for my II gen (04-09). That is why I can see only “-“.

JayVee
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 20, 2011 (GMT)

OK, I made a test this morning but could not get any value for MG1 RPM either. A log file (named 06′ Prius) was sent.

If there is anything else I can test let me know.

Thanks and best regards
Jens

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6081
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 20, 2011 (GMT)

Thanks for all the debugs.

Just to check, you are putting ‘7E2′ into the header field, and *not* ’07E2’?

Thanks

Ian

dimakoff
Member
Posts: 18
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 20, 2011 (GMT)

For me both 7E2 and 07E2 doesn’t work

JayVee
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 20, 2011 (GMT)

Same here. Tried both variants but none of them gave a value back.

Hondacrzy
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 21, 2011 (GMT)

Ian, here is a list for the GENII 2004-2009.
http://www.evtalk.org/353/the-scangauge-ii-and-why-you-need-one/

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6081
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 21, 2011 (GMT)

Unfortunately you’ve all given me comms debugs with 07E2 as the header instead of 7E2, which is unfortunately of no use to me as the headers were not set corretcly.

If someone can redo the test, but with only 7E2 as the header, and not 07E2 I will have the information I need to continue

Thanks!

Ian

JayVee
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 21, 2011 (GMT)

Changed back to ‘7E2’ and send a new log (2006 Prius). Hope it helps.

Best regards
Jens

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6081
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 21, 2011 (GMT)

Got thanks! – will have some more info on this soon, just updating the TorqueScan plugin with some useful bits.

EDIT: Okay, Unfortunately it was still ‘no data’ for the 7E2 header (which should be the correct header)

I’ve just finished updating the TorqueScan example plugin. It now has a extended PID scanner builtin. It the output from it might be helpful in seeing what PIDs are accessible when the header is set at 7E2. If someone was willing to test the plugin and email me the output it should hopefully provide a little more insight into what’s missing

Hondacrzy
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 22, 2011 (GMT)

Ran torque scan a couple of times. locks up on different commands. Auto only seems to pull up 7E8 changed auto to 7E then 7E2 sent files (prius)

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6081
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 22, 2011 (GMT)

Thanks, just seen your post. Am now working on the issues (the scan was helpful!)

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6081
Post Re: Custom PID codes
on: May 22, 2011 (GMT)

Hi

I’ve put 1.4.66 on the market with a few bugs fixed that were stopping readings coming through, plus a few preliminary Prius PIDs. It would be interesting to know fi you get values for them back.

Ian

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.456 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter