Torque

Forums

Forums

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.

Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Using "send" command to actuate fans

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Using "send" command to actuate fans
vetteguy112233
Post Using "send" command to actuate fans
on: May 7, 2012 (GMT)

My friend purchased and ELM327 generic adapter and the current version of Torque. I’ve been playing around with it and am very impressed. I guess he got one of the “good” adapters from China, because we haven’t had any issues so far. I’m considering purchasing the ELM327 and Torque, but have a few questions. I’m a mechanic for a living and would like to be able to use Torque to actuate the electric fans or fuel pump… for testing purposes. I emailed Ian to see if Torque would ever support this function and he told me that it’s possible with the current version, you “add display” pick “Push button” and then you long press on the “send command button” and it gives you the option to “set command to send” It says “Enter raw OBD command(s) to send:” and there is a test command button.

What data goes in this box? I’m currently working with either a 98 Chev K1500 5.0 or 2004 GMC Yukon 5.3

Any help or info would be much appreciated.

vetteguy112233
Post Re: Using "send" command to actuate fans
on: May 10, 2012 (GMT)

Nobody else has a need for this or has tried it?

CrAzY4n00Bs

I attempted to do this but did not get so far since my vehicle is not capable of comprehending the commands, for some reason :/

piemmm
Administrator

You will need to send the OBD commands for activating the fan

If this includes needing to activate the enhanced diagnostics mode as well then you will need to send that relevant command as well