Torque

Forums

Forums

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.

Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » No can frame seen error in testing

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: No can frame seen error in testing
d_mcham
Post No can frame seen error in testing
on: September 7, 2023 (GMT)

Hello.

I’ve been using TP for many years, but haven’t messed around with the more advanced stuff since 2021. Now I see TP has a CAN monitor mode, which is awesome! However, I keep getting an error when testing in the CAN/DBC Editor window.

I get the following when I tap on test:

No can frame seen for can id 264 (0x0108)
CAN frame decode: 264 (0x108)
10802BD08EC019F60EE

I get this same result from several different frame id’s (entered in decimal or 0xHex), and usually when I’m trying to read either more than 8 bits, or bits across 2 bytes. For the frame id above, I have tested each bit individually in the editor and get an expected value, but once I try viewing 2 or more bits at once that cross a byte, and sometimes multiple bits within the same byte, I get the above response. Obviously there is data in that frame (and for that particular id it’s changing data) so what am I doing wrong?

Thanks for any help!

2017 Ram 3500, 6.7L Cummins; OBDLink MX BT and an OBDLink SX

moreause
Post Re: No can frame seen error in testing
on: September 8, 2023 (GMT)

do you have data on the bus

most car these days have a bridge on the obdii port

in the old days the obdii port was directly on the bus so you could sniff the bus

now a day there is a bridge and you don’t see any data on the obdii port , you just see data when you do a request

d_mcham
on: September 9, 2023 (GMT)