Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Map sensor Scaling

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Map sensor Scaling
Misa
Member
Posts: 49
Post Map sensor Scaling
on: April 11, 2022 (GMT)

I swapped from a 3 bar to a 4 bar MAP sensor on my car (tuned appropriately) and now the readings on the boost/vaccuum guage are off quite a bit. Is there a way to scale to see my boost proper again?

Steffe2
Member
Posts: 21
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 11, 2022 (GMT)

Long-press the dial, display configuration, set max value. Should work.

Misa
Member
Posts: 49
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 11, 2022 (GMT)

The min/max values aren’t the issue there, as much as data byte. It seems the PID reads on a 0-255 scale, and my guage is reading it on a 3bar scale. So with the 4bar equipped, the data is reading lower than it actually is.

So, when the 3bar read 24ih/hg and 12.5psi boost, the new Sensor reads in at 30in/hg and 7.5psi boost, which does not match the real world measurements.

Misa
Member
Posts: 49
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 11, 2022 (GMT)

Just to clarify further, in my tuning software, the voltage shown for the MAP sensor IS correct. Its just in how torque is reading the MAP PID and scaling.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2978
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 11, 2022 (GMT)

Create your own custom Map pid
with the correct scaling.

I believe Torque is using only 0-255
without looking at other pids for
different scaling.

mar1993
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 11, 2022 (GMT)

Quote from Steffe2 on April 11, 2022
Long-press the dial, display configuration, set max value. Should work.

Misa
Member
Posts: 49
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 12, 2022 (GMT)

Okay so what should i be doing here then?

Looking at the PID structure on Wikipedia, it shows that the 0-255 is in kpa.

So in my instance, what was originally 255, winds up being 105KPA. the sensor reads 4.8v at that. And at 3.1v, its 60kpa, at 1v, its 20kpa.

Torque Automatically seems to correct or scale this properly to the guage.

Now, the new sensor, at 255, reads 300kpa at 4.8v. so, 100kpa is just 1.6 volts. That is where the issue is.

Does this make more sense to anyone? It isnt the min/max values that need changed. Its how the 0-5v/0-255 data gets converted to a usable number.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2978
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 12, 2022 (GMT)

Create a custom pid for 010B.

Test the pid while connected to
see its raw hex response to
determine what variables are
needed in the equation. Wiki
may already discuss the byte
needed.

Use an equation to yield the correct
kPa results.

A*(300/255)

Units kPa

KOEO should match atmospheric
conditions in your area/elevation.

You might be able to override the Torque MAP
with your custom pid in the pid editor.

Test 014F for its raw hex response and
post. I am curious if your tune uses this
pid somehow based on wiki?

Misa
Member
Posts: 49
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 13, 2022 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on April 12, 2022
Create a custom pid for 010B.

Test the pid while connected to
see its raw hex response to
determine what variables are
needed in the equation. Wiki
may already discuss the byte
needed.

Use an equation to yield the correct
kPa results.

A*(300/255)

Units kPa

KOEO should match atmospheric
conditions in your area/elevation.

You might be able to override the Torque MAP
with your custom pid in the pid editor.

Test 014F for its raw hex response and
post. I am curious if your tune uses this
pid somehow based on wiki?

No data for 014F.

Ill try the other stuff in a bit

Misa
Member
Posts: 49
Post Re: Map sensor Scaling
on: April 17, 2022 (GMT)

Not entirely sure what i did, but it started working as needed. Thanks for the helps

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.05 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter