Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » no AFR data?

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: no AFR data?
cybern8
Member
Posts: 5
Post no AFR data?
on: November 27, 2021 (GMT)

i am using torque pro with an obdlink mx+. i am trying to do some data logging, but i am not getting anything for either Air Fuel Ratio (Commanded) or Air Fuel Ratio (Measured). this is on a 1997 camaro z28 w/obd2. is there a reason why i wouldn’t get this data? i don’t need any torque pro add-ons to get this data do i?

i assume my o2 sensors are fine, or i would be getting DTCs/MILs for bad sensors.

i have read that it is normal to not get any data for these until the engine moves into closed loop, but even on logging runs when i have been driving for 30-45 minutes (including 20-30 minutes at freeway speeds, thermostat 185+) there is still no data showing.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2993
Post Re: no AFR data?
on: November 29, 2021 (GMT)

Look under Adapter Status icon info
to see which mode 01 sensors are supported
by your vehicle. Maybe you need a different
range of pids e.g., 0124 or 0134 to read.

If so you may need to add them yourself
as custom pids.

cybern8
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: no AFR data?
on: November 29, 2021 (GMT)

thank you. is there a thread somewhere in here on adding custom pids? is there more to it than just picking from a list when the app is up and connected to the car?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2993
Post Re: no AFR data?
on: November 30, 2021 (GMT)

Torque has the capability of letting
experienced users add custom pids…

Menu>Settings>Manage Extra Pids/Sensors

Menu>Add Custom

Header: Auto
Mode/Pid: 0124

While connected to your vehicle use
the Test button to see your vehicles
raw hex response. The data received
will tell you if it is supported or not.

The mode/pid is specific. Do not use
anything other than 0124 or 0134 for
testing. (Mode 01 – pids 24 or 34).

cybern8
Member
Posts: 5
Post Re: no AFR data?
on: December 1, 2021 (GMT)

ok – those tests returned 7F012411 and 7F013411 respectively.

7F = no comprehende?

the app also showed me this -> https://tinyurl.com/yckky2eh

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2993
Post Re: no AFR data?
on: December 1, 2021 (GMT)

Those pids are not supported (7F…)
using mode 01.

You might try searching the web for a
forum specific to your vehicle. Maybe
a mode 22 pid exists which could be
found

moreause
Member
Posts: 637
Post Re: no AFR data?
on: December 2, 2021 (GMT)

Quote from cybern8 on November 27, 2021
i am using torque pro with an obdlink mx+. i am trying to do some data logging, but i am not getting anything for either Air Fuel Ratio (Commanded) or Air Fuel Ratio (Measured). this is on a 1997 camaro z28 w/obd2. is there a reason why i wouldn’t get this data? i don’t need any torque pro add-ons to get this data do i?

i assume my o2 sensors are fine, or i would be getting DTCs/MILs for bad sensors.

i have read that it is normal to not get any data for these until the engine moves into closed loop, but even on logging runs when i have been driving for 30-45 minutes (including 20-30 minutes at freeway speeds, thermostat 185+) there is still no data showing.

1997 will be a narrow band o2 sensor ..so you will not get any afr value

with a narrow band o2 the value switch on to off around 14.7 afr so the car oscillate the value around that value to confirm the value

at wot ..the car is blind

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.027 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter