Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
spot2000
Member
Posts: 6
Post Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 4, 2021 (GMT)

Hi.

After tremendos work, I managed to extract a lot of PIDs from my ID.3.

Now the problem is how to add them into Torque as a custom PID.

For example, this PID information for receiving the active mode of the car:

Request mode, you send this extended message:
0x17fc007b 03 22 74 48 55 55 55 55

Response will be in this form:
0x17fe007b 04 62 74 48 XX aa aa aa

XX = is mode

XX = 0 => standby
XX = 1 => driving
XX = 4 => AC charging
XX = 6 => DC charging

I tried all combinations on how to put this into the custom PID in the Torque pro app, but it will not work.

Please help me.

spot2000
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 5, 2021 (GMT)

anyone that can help a lost one???

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1487
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 5, 2021 (GMT)

try this PID:

PID: 227448
Long name: Active mode
Short name: Mode
min: 0
Max: 0
scale: x1
unit:
Equation: Lookup(A::0=’standby’:1=’driving’:4=’AC char’):6=’ DC char’)
Header: 7E2
Start:
Stop:

try with different addresses Header:
7E0, 7E1, 7E2, 7E3, 7E4, 7E5, 7E6
post the results of answers in the PID Test mode

spot2000
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 6, 2021 (GMT)

Doesent work.

With my car you must use CAN2.0B, 29 bit ID.

So my Can request must be with the correct 29 bit ID as I wrote in my first message.

Can’t Torque suppport 29 bit identifier? So I know if I must move on and look for another product?

Or is the problem that i think these are UDS CAN messages?

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1487
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 6, 2021 (GMT)

the standard address for a 29 bit CAN bus should look like this
0x18Dxxxxx
0x17fc007b – maybe your address is in the wrong format

still try as I suggested, let’s see what the ebu answers

try this PID:

PID: 227448
Long name: Active mode
Short name: Mode
min: 0
Max: 0
scale: x1
unit:
Equation: Lookup(A::0=’standby’:1=’driving’:4=’AC char’):6=’ DC char’)
Header: fc007b
Start:
Stop:

Chrispy
Member
Posts: 17
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 6, 2021 (GMT)

That is a UDS request / response, it should be do-able in Torque, you just need to do the following:
Set to 29bit CAN IDs
Set transmit CAN ID to 17fc007b
Set response CAN ID to 17fe007b

This is done using AT commands which you put in the initialisation string.

I’ll try and dig out the commands that you need.

You might need a good quality ELM327 device.

Chrispy
Member
Posts: 17
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 6, 2021 (GMT)

I think you need the following commands…

ATD (resets everything)
ATCP 17 (sets first part of Tx ID to 17)
ATSH FC 00 7B (sets rest of Tx ID)
ATCRA 17 FE 00 7B (sets Rx ID)

There is an app called ELM chat that will let you do the commands one by one to check they work.

If you want to use PIDs that are longer than one message you’ll also have to set the flow control CAN IDs to the same.

spot2000
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 6, 2021 (GMT)

Hi, I managed to do it all in a terminal software and with the help of the ELM327 reference manual.

But not sure how to put in the seven AT strings i need to send to be able to talk UDS in Torque.

Do you know how to separate more commands on noe row in Torque app?

Chrispy
Member
Posts: 17
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 6, 2021 (GMT)

Just put \n between the commands to separate them.

What are the five you need out of interest?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2878
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 7, 2021 (GMT)

If the parser is not populating the
variables correctly, you might need
to use Rx addressing to extract the
data in your equation.

spot2000
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 8, 2021 (GMT)

I made it work outside of Torque now, so I think I will use another tool for my purpose.

But I will try with Torque later.

spot2000
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 17, 2021 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on January 7, 2021

If the parser is not populating the
variables correctly, you might need
to use Rx addressing to extract the
data in your equation.

As you suspected, Torque don’t populate the answer correctly, what do you mean with Rx addressing?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2878
Post Re: Trying to add custom PID for and Volkswagen ID.3 but fail
on: January 17, 2021 (GMT)

Use R0, R1, etc. in place of A, B, etc.
addressing. Test the raw hex response
to see which Rx is needed. (R8)?

Try using Lookup(R8 in Cintakc’s equation
instead of Lookup(A.

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.333 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter