Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Add PID from any sensors?

Pages: 1 [2] 3
Author Topic: Add PID from any sensors?
cintakc
Member
Posts: 1522
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 25, 2021 (GMT)

the string that you gave for SAAB before 2004

try this PIDs

Exhaust particle filter pressure
aa0117		R5*98.2/255-3.1 kPa

Exhaust particle filter pressure sensor
aa0117		R4*5/255 V

Exhaust temperature 1
aa0117		R7*4-40	°C

Exhaust temperature 2
aa0117		R9*4-40	°C

DFT loading state
aa0118		R3*2	%
S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 25, 2021 (GMT)

the string that you gave for SAAB before 2004.

Alright.

I’ve test what you said (With same Header and Start, stops and init string):

DPF parametr
aa0118 R3

Result for aquation : 23.0
Response : 5E87181764CE001E00
Equation steps : =23

Exhaust particle filter pressure
aa0117 R5*98.2/255-3.1 kPa

Result for aquation : 0.36588237
Response : 5E8817041609321F301B
Equation steps : =9*98.2/255-3.1

Exhaust particle filter pressure sensor
aa0117 R4*5/255 V

Result for aquation : 0.4117647
Response : 5E8817041509321F301B
Equation steps : =21*5/255

Exhaust temperature 1
aa0117 R7*4-40 °C

Result for aquation : 80.0
Response : 5E881704150A321E301B
Equation steps : =30*4-40

Exhaust temperature 2
aa0117 R9*4-40 °C

Result for aquation : 64.0
Response : 5E881704160A321E301A
Equation steps : =26*4-40

DFT loading state
aa0118 R3*2 %

Result for aquation : 46.0
Response : 5E87181764CE001E00
Equation steps : =23*2

It’s great !
As far as I know, you are the first to find informations about temperature and pressure ! (and I visit many many forums and threads about those DPF !)

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 25, 2021 (GMT)

Could you explain how do you retrieve the equations?
I’d like to find the other PIDs.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1522
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

there are very few DPF parameters

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

I don’t look especially for DPF PIDs anymore…

If I can get every informations about physics data and engine management (02 Sensor, EGR close/Open, By-Pass EGR Cooler close/open, SwirlFlap close/open,…) it would be great.

EDIT : other thing, the standard PIDs for Manifold Air Pressure has not a full range (it’s stuck at 255 kPa) sot there must be and other PIDs to get the full range…? It’s an other example why I would all non- standard PIDs.

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on January 24, 2021
I will put this data into the scanner and maybe I can see the formulas

What is the “scanner” which you use ?

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1522
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

I will look at the parameters that you wrote above
I use Launch X431 and AutoCom CDP+

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

Ok. I didn’t know those app (I’ll take a look).

Very nice to spend some time on it. 😉
If you have some request to do directly on the car, ask me, i’ll try to make it quickly.

Thanks again

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1522
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

OK
by the way, in your table you must write the correct answers
request aa0118 – response 5E87180C64C3000700

180C64C3000700 – right

AA0118 80C 0: 64 C3 00 07 00 – your table

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

Ok, I’ll do that. (I just report the terminal Log for now.)
You have Write acces in the table if you want add anything.

I notice something, with PID that you gave me (7 about DPF).
My refresh rate is very low and sometime disconnect (-vincent had the same issue in his topic, but not tell how he solve it).
I think it’s since I add the Initialization String : atsp6\natsh7e0\n20 and Header 7e0

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1522
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

the peculiarity of this protocol is that for one request aa01xx – the ecu responds with several measurements of the parameter in a row and at the end of this series of responses a failure occurs, but you have to put up with this in the Torque program, perhaps other programs will correctly wait for the end of the entire series of responses and only after that a new request will be issued
https://yadi.sk/i/GesKRYGnILgjrA

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

Ok… It’s weird, because I use to use the PIDs AA0118 since a couple of months :
DPF loading state R3*2 %
DPF regeneration R8 %
DPF km since last regen 5*(256*R6+R7) km

And it was pretty fast and reactive (it was without header and no custom init string)

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 26, 2021 (GMT)

About the slow refresh rate :
I’ve just try something on road back from work :
Since I have adding your new PIDs (exhaust Temp and Pressure) I’ve update all my old PID with :
Header : 7e0
and Start command : atcra5e8\natd1\nath1
Stop command : atcra7e8\natd0\nath0
(Instead of Start command : atcra5e8 \n atd1 \n ath1
Stop command : atcra7e8 \n atd0 \n ath0)

I thought that the new PIDs was the cause of the crashes and slow refresh rate.

So, I have reset all Header at blank, and remove the init string.
Everything work the same : Crashes and slowdowns.

I try my other bluetooth adapter instead of new WIFI : Idem.

I finally try to add spaces in start and stop commands, and it seems to work better.
Refresh rate is good and crashes are rarer. (more often than before… maybe because of the number of Display but very much better than this morning).

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1522
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 27, 2021 (GMT)
EGR actuator
aa0115		R5*99.45/255 %

Swirl actuator
aa0121		R3*99.45/255 %

Fan control output 1
aa0103		Lookup((R3&1)::0='OFF':1='ON')

Fan control output 2
aa0103		Lookup((R3&2)::0='OFF':2='ON')

Fan control output 3
aa0103		Lookup((R3&4)::0='OFF':4='ON')

Manifold absolute pressure
aa0114		R5*306/255+6	kPa

Manifold absolute pressure demanded
aa0114		R6*8	kPa

Intake air temperature
aa0111		R6-40 C

--------------------------------------
for Opel Vectra C 2008 Z19DTH 1.9L EDC16C

EGR specified position
aa0115		R3*100/255	%

EGR pulse ratio
aa0115		R5*100/255	%

Particle filter differential pressure
aa0117		R4*110/255-11	kPa

Loaf state particle filter
aa0118		R2*2	%

Particle filter regeneration
aa0118		R7	%
S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 27, 2021 (GMT)

Perfect !

I try that as soon as possible !

And I’ll tell you what. 😉 thanks again for your researchs.

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 27, 2021 (GMT)

Amazing Cintakc, almost everything seems to work fine !

The MAP sensor display now his full range !

I have the responses about Swirl and EGR positions (even if I don’t know if it’s really the position… )

The EGR position displayed seems to be weird and pretty illogical… (maybe my pollution issue came from here, or a problem with PID…)

I tried Vectra PIDs, the EGR position display informations more understandable… but I don’t know which one is correct… I’ll try some mecanical verifications later. (If It’s possible to get the “EGR position demanded” or Limit switches Open-Close, It would be great…)
“Vectra DPF Differential pressure” display something… but I not sure that there is 2 sensors (before and after DPF) to compare on my Z19DTR version… so I doubt a bit.

I will do some verifications in the Workshop Information System.

For now, it’s very awesome to get those informations. Thanks again (a lot!).

Maybe I’ll need some other sensors informations… But you have already spent many time for me !

(If you find the “demanded positions” for EGR, Swirl, and throttle actuators… O2Sensor,… could be nice. And maybe the Bypass EGR position (but it seem to work with vaccum command… so I don’t know if it’s possible… )
If you have a full list of available PIDS… I’m interested obviously.

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 28, 2021 (GMT)

I also get rid of crashes and slowdowns. There was a PID with wrong stop command : “atcra7e8 \n atd1 \n ath1”
Just set 0 instead of 1, and it’s a lot stable!
My bad.

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 30, 2021 (GMT)

Hi Cintakc,

I definitely suspect something on the EGR valve, I prefer trust the Z19DTR’s PID than those for Z19DTH (EGR valve are different, on Z19DTR for example there is a position sensor which is not on the DTH.).

Sadly, I don’t know anything about CAN-bus langage. :-/

Could you explain briefly how the equations and the “Rx” values are addressed and how the CANbus “says” to the programmer what Rx to choose (“R7, R8,…”)

If I take the example of EGR position for Z19DTR and DTH :
EGR actuator (DTR): R5*99.45/255 %
EGR specified position (DTH): R3*100/255 %

We can see that the equations are pretty similar (maybe the correction is muore significant on DTR) but it seems that the response R5 is the same response that the R3 for DTH.

Can we know precisely what mean the R5 value? (O,Ox Volts… or anything?)

Other example, the DPF pressure sensor :
DPF pressure : R5*98.2/255-3.1 kPa
DPF pressure Sensor : R4*5/255 V

But, the Workshop Information System gave me this :
https://yadi.sk/i/vvaYYlyWAgfpCw

and the correlation between the two PIDs are not very logical according to linear range on the graphic.

I’m not good at it, but I really would like to understand better (even a bit).

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1522
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 31, 2021 (GMT)

Could you explain briefly how the equations and the “Rx” values are addressed and how the CANbus “says” to the programmer what Rx to choose (“R7, R8,…”)
this is not so simple, you need to substitute real data into the emulator of responses from the ECU and see what data the scanner shows, then change each byte of the response one by one to see which parameters change in the readings of the scanner and in this way calculate which byte in the answer is responsible for which parameter and at the same time calculate formula

S0LlDSNAKE
Member
Posts: 46
Post Re: Add PID from any sensors?
on: January 31, 2021 (GMT)

Oh… indeed ! Not so simple !

So, we’re never 100% sure that the formulas is good?

Pages: 1 [2] 3
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.471 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter