Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » wi-fi problems

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: wi-fi problems
naranca
Member
Posts: 7
Post wi-fi problems
on: October 4, 2020 (GMT)

hello

On my phone in settings I can connect to the OBD-Wifi.
If I then look in the app it says: “connecting to Wi-fi” for about 1 min. then it tries again, and one more time, and then it tells me to look in settings.
If I look in settings, I can see it is set up to use wi-fi
(and my phone is connected to that wi-fi created by the OBD device, but the app looks like it can not see that.

I have tried to exit the App.
I have tried to disconnect the OBD device, and reconnect it (both with engine on and engine off)
I have tried to turn off mobile data.
I have tried to disconnect Wi-fi connection on the phone and connect again, ith app turned off, and app turned on.
result is the same, phone can see the wifi from the OBD adaptor, but the Torque app can’t.

The wifi level is excellent.

One time 2 hours ago I succeeded after 30 min.. -all of a sudden- to connect, and the app worked, but after an engine turn off, itis 100% impossible, to connect again.
I have tried for 1½ hour to connect again, and have a warm engine now. :)
I use the Pro version, and extra Plugin (also paid) for Kia.

Thanx for any help.

PC I bought it with Wi-fi, be course I had a bluetooth that was disconnecting all the time. + to be able to use bluetooth for other things.. I

By the way I have noticed that when the phone are connected to the OBD Wi-fi, it is not possible to connect to mobile internet… is that normal? if: then it is not very smart..

moreause
Member
Posts: 525
Post Re: wi-fi problems
on: October 5, 2020 (GMT)

yep that is one of the reason i don’t like to use wifi dongle

you can’t go on the internet …since the phone is connected on wifi…. that is not connected to the internet

by the way you can have more than one bluetooth device

i use torque and play music on my car radio at the same time

Teal
Member
Posts: 3
Post Re: wi-fi problems
on: October 9, 2020 (GMT)

Help I’m pulling my hair out!!!

Torque Lite connects to the ECU and app works fine with ELM327 on wifi.

I upgraded to Torque Pro but it wont connect to the ECU.

Yes I have it on wifi. I have tried everything.

How come Lite can work but I cant get Pro to work?

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1487
Post Re: wi-fi problems
on: October 9, 2020 (GMT)

in the PRO version you need to create and configure a Profile for your car

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2878
Post Re: wi-fi problems
on: October 9, 2020 (GMT)

Do you know which module is responding
using Lite? Maybe a custom init string is
needed to point Pro to the correct module.

Teal
Member
Posts: 3
Post Re: wi-fi problems
on: October 10, 2020 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on October 9, 2020
in the PRO version you need to create and configure a Profile for your car
Yes I have added a car profile and fiddled with the settings in the profile to no avail.

Teal
Member
Posts: 3
Post Re: wi-fi problems
on: October 10, 2020 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on October 9, 2020

Do you know which module is responding
using Lite? Maybe a custom init string is
needed to point Pro to the correct module.

I’m not sure what you mean by “module responding”

On connection to adapter it says “No – Connecting to WiFi”

On connection to ECU it says “No”

Tablet has a wifi connection to the adapter. TLite connects very quickly. TPro does not connect. TPro is configured for Wifi using the same IP and port setting as TLite.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1487
Post Re: wi-fi problems
on: October 10, 2020 (GMT)

Torque settings – adapter settings – select the type of wifi adapter
before that, in the wifi settings of the phone, it will connect via wifi to the adapter

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.196 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter