Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Voltage (OBD Adapter)

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 7, 2019 (GMT)

Hi, I’ve been using the Torque app for a number of years now and I love it. I recently installed an Android head unit in my car so I no longer need my phone mounted on the windscreen

I duplicated my usual gauges all of which worked great in my Galaxy S8, but the Voltage (AD) gauge is reporting no data, yet still works with my phone connected

When going through the add gauge dialogue, the Voltage (OBD Adapter) is green, but not light green like some of the other available data sources

Any thoughts?

Cheers Martyn

cooldriver
Member
Posts: 27
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 7, 2019 (GMT)

Look at adapter status for all available pids.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2775
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 8, 2019 (GMT)

I believe the supported sensors under
adapter status icon refers to the OBD
01xx pids from your vehicle.

The voltage from your adapter would
likely use an elm command to read
(ATRV). Are you using the same adapter
with the head unit?

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 8, 2019 (GMT)

Thanks for the reply guys…

I have looked at the adapter status and the Voltage adapter isn’t explicitly mentioned, however I know this worked previously with my last phone. Sadly I recently changed phones so can’t look at the Torque install on there to see what differences there may be. I’m using the same OBD Bluetooth Adapter in both cases

cooldriver
Member
Posts: 27
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 10, 2019 (GMT)

so try another app like obdfusion.
I cant get why this app here is so often used.

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 12, 2019 (GMT)

Because I’ve already invested in this app, and it worked the way I wanted it to until very recently. I don’t want to purchase new apps if I can get this one working the way it did previously

danielfbahr
Member
Posts: 48
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 12, 2019 (GMT)

Is there a PID for your car somewhere for control module voltage? Could you use that instead.

Torque’s way better than OBD Fusion.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2775
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 12, 2019 (GMT)

Is your head unit using the current
version of Torque Pro from Google Play?

Are you able to use the send command
feature with ATRV and get response?

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 16, 2019 (GMT)

Quote from danielfbahr on October 12, 2019
Is there a PID for your car somewhere for control module voltage? Could you use that instead.

Torque’s way better than OBD Fusion.

How would I find this PID? Actually, would someone mind telling me what PID means!?

I work in IT so I’m no stranger to working with complex software, and I’m only now starting to realise how much there is to this app!

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 16, 2019 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on October 12, 2019

Is your head unit using the current
version of Torque Pro from Google Play?

Are you able to use the send command
feature with ATRV and get response?

There are no updates for it available in the Play store, so I presume it’s running the latest version

How do I use the send command feature with ATRV to see if I get a response?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2775
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 16, 2019 (GMT)

Look under Adapter Status icon information
for version. 1.8.205 is the current release.

You can add a pushbutton display from the
realtime dashboard for sending commands
and testing the responses.

When you send ATRV, it is recognized by your
adapter as an ELM327 command. Only OBD
commands are packaged by the adapter for the
protocol in use and sent along to the proper
module on the vehicle network.

F-150Torqued
Member
Posts: 415
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 16, 2019 (GMT)

Quote from murthybruit on October 16, 2019

… … and I’m only now starting to realise how much there is to this app!

AMEN Brother! Then you can go download Track Recorder and overlay Torque Pro gauges on your video camera view! And Themes …

Wikipedia.org/wiki/OBD-II PIDs shows Hex 42 to be Control module voltate (formula 256A+B/1000). Lot of good info there to help you get started getting deeper into Torque Pro. Beyond that you need to ‘dig’ for proprietary PIDs for your specific vehicle. They’re harder to find. PID = “Parameter ID”. If you are an IT guy – you can best relate to PIDs as PORT Addresses on your computer. Torque is not reading the sensors. The ECU reads them, filters it through its software formulas, or calculates stuff for which there is not even a sensor and posts the results on a PORT (or PID).

REf: what Capp777 said. Beware if version if Torque was ‘pre-loaded’ on your device or came with a Disk.

———————-

54371019

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 19, 2019 (GMT)

Quote from F-150Torqued on October 16, 2019
Quote from murthybruit on October 16, 2019

… … and I’m only now starting to realise how much there is to this app!

AMEN Brother! Then you can go download Track Recorder and overlay Torque Pro gauges on your video camera view! And Themes …

This sounds interesting!! Will be looking into that!

Wikipedia.org/wiki/OBD-II PIDs shows Hex 42 to be Control module voltate (formula 256A+B/1000). Lot of good info there to help you get started getting deeper into Torque Pro. Beyond that you need to ‘dig’ for proprietary PIDs for your specific vehicle. They’re harder to find. PID = “Parameter ID”. If you are an IT guy – you can best relate to PIDs as PORT Addresses on your computer. Torque is not reading the sensors. The ECU reads them, filters it through its software formulas, or calculates stuff for which there is not even a sensor and posts the results on a PORT (or PID).

This is really helpful, thank you for the comparison to network ports, that’s gone right up my flagpole, I’m saluting that!

REf: what Capp777 said. Beware if version if Torque was ‘pre-loaded’ on your device or came with a Disk.

Thank you guys for the advice and direction, I’m away for a few days but will be having a good rummage when I get back! Really encouraging to find such a knowledgeable and supportive community behind the app

———————-

54371019

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 19, 2019 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on October 16, 2019

When you send ATRV, it is recognized by your
adapter as an ELM327 command. Only OBD
commands are packaged by the adapter for the
protocol in use and sent along to the proper
module on the vehicle network.

What is ATRV?

Thanks again for all your help and support

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2775
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 19, 2019 (GMT)

Your Elm327 adapter uses AT commands
for its commands. ATRV is the elm command
for read voltage as seen by the adapter.

There is also an ATCV command for calibrating
its voltage if a more accurate reading is
known (such as a multimeter).

There are pdfs on the web which describe the
various commands for the Elm327.

Torque should already have the 0142 voltage
mentioned in Wiki.

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 23, 2019 (GMT)

Quote from Capp777 on October 16, 2019

Look under Adapter Status icon information
for version. 1.8.205 is the current release.

I’ve just got back and looked at this, turns out the head unit is running an older version 1.8.12. However the Play store is offering no update and I can’t find an option in the app settings to upgrade?

Do I need to uninstall it? Wanted to know if there was an alternative before I do to save me setting all my gauges up again?

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 24, 2019 (GMT)

I just downloaded the latest APK and installed it, which has rectified the voltage gauge issue! So thanks for the hint regarding versions, I thought I installed it on the head unit, but it must have been bundled

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 24, 2019 (GMT)

AMEN Brother! Then you can go download Track Recorder and overlay Torque Pro gauges on your video camera view! And Themes …

I installed this on my phone to have a play whilst I was away, loving what I’m seeing! However, I’ve just installed it on the headunit, and it crashes every time I open it….. The only thing I can think, is that there’s no camera connected to it yet?

Thanks again for all the help

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2775
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 24, 2019 (GMT)

Track Recorder uses the device’s camera so
if there is no camera – no image… but you may
be able to get the map overlay with gauges if it
wasn’t crashing.

Also suggest Torquescan plugin for helping
with pids and addresses. The addresses are needed
if you want to customize your themes.

Glad its working now!

murthybruit
Member
Posts: 14
Post Re: Voltage (OBD Adapter)
on: October 30, 2019 (GMT)

Hmmm, tried connecting a camera, still crashes the moment the plugin launches. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling the plugin, but to no avail

Any suggestions before I try uninstalling all of Torque?

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.718 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter