Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » all equations give same result

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: all equations give same result
ruggb
Member
Posts: 18
Post all equations give same result
on: September 21, 2019 (GMT)

I put the following equations into torque pro:

Transmission Fluid Temp,TFTF,2182,(A-40)*1.8+32,0,250,°F
TFT1,TFT1,2182,(A-40),0,250,°C
TFT2,TFT2,2182,((((A*256+B)*0.07-400)/10)-32)*5/9,0,250,°C
TFT3,TFT3F,2182,((((A*256)+B)*0.07)-400)/10,0,250,°F
TFT4,TFT4,2182,((A*256+B)*0.07-400)/10,0,250,°F

A = 75.0
B = 160.0

I get the following answers
35.0 °C == should be 95 °F
35.0 °C
35.3 °C
35.3 °C == should be 95.52 °F
35.3 °C == should be 95.52 °F

I don’t know why they are different 35.0 vs 35.3 but that is the least of the issues and I don’t care about 0.3 °C.

Why aren’t the equations working to convert to °F or °C?

Why does Torque Pro ignore the units I put in and show °C on all?

What is the equivalent character for ° in the app? If I put that in (alt + 248) a CSV file it has no clue what that is when I load it. I must enter it by editing in the app.

Retired BSEE – still engineering everything.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1458
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 21, 2019 (GMT)

everything is confused, let’s first
year of manufacture of your car
region for which the car was released
engine’s type
do you have a variator?

on your dashboard the temperature of the engine coolant is shown in °C or °F

I don’t know why they are different 35.0 vs 35.3 but that is the least of the issues and I don’t care about 0.3 °C.
a difference of 0.3 degrees occurs because in the first case in the formula you use only the value of byte A, and in the second case the value of byte B is also added

Why does Torque Pro ignore the units I put in and show °C on all?

go to the settings of the torques, unit section and remove the bird “Use Celsius”

ruggb
Member
Posts: 18
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 23, 2019 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on September 21, 2019
everything is confused, let’s first
year of manufacture of your car
region for which the car was released
engine’s type
do you have a variator?

on your dashboard the temperature of the engine coolant is shown in °C or °F

I don’t know why they are different 35.0 vs 35.3 but that is the least of the issues and I don’t care about 0.3 °C.
a difference of 0.3 degrees occurs because in the first case in the formula you use only the value of byte A, and in the second case the value of byte B is also added

Why does Torque Pro ignore the units I put in and show °C on all?

go to the settings of the torques, unit section and remove the bird “Use Celsius”

2014 RAV4 USA 2.5L 4cyl
I unchecked “use Celsius”. Now it only shows °F. I guess I can’t have one in °F and one in °C. OK, I was only testing anyway. I’ll stick to °F. That means the conversion factors are useless, as Torque converts it based on that selection.
Why do people keep listing PIDs with the conversion factors?

Now for the harder question. I figured this one out once, but lost it.
I want to take the difference between 2 PIDs I added:
Long names: WSFL and WSFR
short names: FLWS and FRWS
but when I enter any of those in an equation it says it they don’t exist.
equation>> ABS(WSFL-WSFR)

Both PIDs work. What did I forget?

Retired BSEE – still engineering everything.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1458
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 23, 2019 (GMT)

(WSFL-WSFR)

try this
(Val{Long name your parameter 1}-Val{Long name your parameter 2})

you can have two devices on the screen with different units
https://yadi.sk/d/So1FRb_0EwF3mw

ruggb
Member
Posts: 18
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 23, 2019 (GMT)

thanks
I’ll try that for education purposes.

edit – app ignores these entries in CSV file

Wheel Speed Front Diff e,FDiff,ABS(VAL(“Wheel Speed Front Left”)-VAL(“Wheel Speed Front Right”)),0,5,mph
Wheel Speed Rear Diff e,RDiff,ABS(VAL(“Wheel Speed Rear Left”)-VAL(“Wheel Speed Rear Right”)),0,5,mph

I found the formula I used – it was simple
ABS((A-B)*0.795355126)
Yeah, I just subtracted the two parameters to find the difference in wheel speed left to right. It is from the same PID.

I don’t know why the different units didn’t work. Like the conversion part of the equation did not get processed. I will have to take a look at that again. But when the equation should have given °F it gave °C. When I unchecked “use °C” and tried to convert from °F to °C it still gave me °F.

Is that the best protocol for an ELM327 device? Mine is on automatic-protocol scan

What does atsp6 and atsh7E0 do>

Retired BSEE – still engineering everything.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 23, 2019 (GMT)

Are you using Units string that Torque
recognizes? If so Torque will convert if
necessary based upon your preferred
units settings.

Conversely, using an unrecognized units
string will eliminated the conversion if
you wanted to have both °F and °C
displayed.

ruggb
Member
Posts: 18
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 23, 2019 (GMT)

the units I am using are °C and °F as shown above.
I am not understanding how you use a non-recognized unit string and get it to display °C and °F.

Retired BSEE – still engineering everything.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 23, 2019 (GMT)

Try just C or F. I believe Torque will
add the ° symbol.

You could create a custom pid with a
known value and test which unit string
works.

If Torque doesn’t recognize the text used
it won’t convert. Thats why I test my equations
with unit string blank to confirm my results
without Torque further changing the result.

ruggb
Member
Posts: 18
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 24, 2019 (GMT)

Torque does not add the ° symbol. If I put it into the CSV file, it does not recognize it and gives a white ?. I must edit it on the device and use the ° in the editor. I have no idea what that equates to in real life.

I guess I will stick to F since I have cabin, outside, transmission, and engine cooler temps. It was academic.

What does your “very advanced ELM 327” code do?

I would like to find a PID for engine oil temp. Got any leads?

Retired BSEE – still engineering everything.

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 24, 2019 (GMT)

Torque does add the ° symbol on the
dashboard when using C, F, °C or °F in
the pid editor. Your symbol in the CSV
file is likely not being recognized due to
its character code and/or font.

You might try exporting your edited pid
list from Torque then copying and pasting.

Cintakc’s elm commands…

ATSP6 – Sets protocol 6 to communicate to your
vehicle. CAN (11bit ID, 500 kbaud).

ATSH7E0 – Sets message header to 07E0.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1458
Post Re: all equations give same result
on: September 24, 2019 (GMT)

bird “Use alternate OBD Header” affects grad C or grad F
since it is with this bird that the units of measurement are set, which will be according to the ones assigned in the PID settings
look, I posted a screenshot above

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.272 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter