Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Read from broadcast PID

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Read from broadcast PID
rsfjr87
Member
Posts: 16
Post Read from broadcast PID
on: January 7, 2019 (GMT)

Hello all,

I have a doubt.

My car ecu used two protocols.

The ISO 29-bit for ordinary obd operations.

Abs the 11-bit as a fixed broadcast, it keeps broadcasting continuously the engine RPM, wheels speed, VIN, etc.

Is there anyway to get torque reading some of those infos, instead of sending the queries all the time?

For example, using the 29bit protocol for some PIDs, but vehicle speed for the broadcast at address 1DF (11-bit)?

I would read the 1DF via custom pid and override the speed pid. But I am not sure what field I should use at the custom pid editor in order to send the commands to the ELM chip.
Obd header?
Diagnostic start?
Diagnostic stop?

All the best.

moreause
Member
Posts: 416
Post Re: Read from broadcast PID
on: January 8, 2019 (GMT)

yep that would be useful from time to time

not sure it’s possible

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1245
Post Re: Read from broadcast PID
on: January 8, 2019 (GMT)

The adapter ELM327 works on the principle of request-response and it just cannot read answers from a certain address
for ELM327 there is an ATMA command that will listen for the entire exchange on the bus

rsfjr87
Member
Posts: 16
Post Re: Read from broadcast PID
on: January 8, 2019 (GMT)

Thanks.

I can use ATMA, along with ATCRA 1D0, to monitor only the 1D0 ID.

I could use the ATMT D0 too.

But I don’t know where can I write those commands in the PID editor.

The sequence would be the following:
AT SP 6
AT CRA 1D0
ATMA

-fetch the PID

AT CRA
AT SP 7

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1245
Post Re: Read from broadcast PID
on: January 8, 2019 (GMT)

long tap on the screen
add instrument
device type Button
issue OBD command
a button will appear
long tap on this button
display configuration
set command to send
AT SP 6
AT CRA 1D0
ATMA

rsfjr87
Member
Posts: 16
Post Re: Read from broadcast PID
on: January 8, 2019 (GMT)

Thanks.

Can I add them here?

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1245
Post Re: Read from broadcast PID
on: January 8, 2019 (GMT)

not

rsfjr87
Member
Posts: 16
Post Re: Read from broadcast PID
on: January 8, 2019 (GMT)

=c

Just for curiosity, what are those for?

moreause
Member
Posts: 416
Post Re: Read from broadcast PID
on: January 9, 2019 (GMT)

i think this is possible

there where discussion not long ago to switch to the low speed bus with the obdlink mx

don’t remember the exact way to do it …was kinda change bus…do request …revert to normal bus

in you case not sur exactly how it would work

since normaly a pid send a request and wait fopr a response the go to the next pid

and since you won’t ask anything …. not sure how the software will know ..ok waited long enough … next pid

i know there is a time out in case of no response but i suspect that will slow down the logging alot

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.184 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter