Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » help Request: Import not working

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: help Request: Import not working
whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post help Request: Import not working
on: September 26, 2018 (GMT)

I just installed Torque Pro on my android device, set up the profile (for a 99 Chevy Suburban LT), set up the extra PIDs/Sensors using the predefined set of Pontiac/GM/Opel/Vauxhall.

I had also set up the Realtime Information plugin with a number of PIDs and reviewed the response of the Test Results plugin.

I connected to the vehicle using a wifi-based ELM327 device, and it seems to connect without issue.

But what I am finding though is that I do not see any capability to access any of the predefined set of extra PIDs through the plugins.

And of all the PIDs I set up to show in the Realtime Information, the only response I am getting is from RPM.

Can someone provide some guidance on this? I’m trying to debug a rough idle (no CEL/no codes) aiming to investigate the cylinder balance test. thks

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

I suggest looking under the Adapter Status
icon information for errors if any.

Some of the cheap Elm327 adapters have been
discussed here on the forum about working
with some protocols but not others.

I am not aware that Torque can run cylinder
balance tests.

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

Didnt see any errors.. it does say my connection is slow in the benchmark portion, even with the speed boost enabled…

I do notice that one of the icons is flashing when connected, the first icon, not sure what that is or means, looks like a depth gauge with a line through it..

mainly, I was trying to get at the misfire information that seems to be supported via the imported PIDs, but they dont show..

back to the drawing board

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

You might try clearing the list of custom pids
then exit Torque then go back to reinstalling
the custom pids.

While connected to your vehicle select one of
the pids to edit. While in the pid editor there
is a test feature that will show you the vehicles
raw hex response. Please post the raw hex
response.

Symbols:

GPS Satellites
Phone
Adapter
ECU connection

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

For 221193 , the response is 7F22119312

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

Yea, it also told me not able to get my GPS location
, I have to figure out how to allow that permission…

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

If your vehicle uses VPW Protocol you
might try using the following header
instead of Auto for 221193.

6C10F1

and test the raw hex response.

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

J1850 VPW protocol, but when I change the header as recommended, the response I get is: ‘No Response’

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

I am at the end of my knowledge with
Chevys.

If you leave the header blank?

Maybe try some of the other pids as well…

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

using the 6C10F1 as header??

the part that is confusing to me is that this is a prepackaged set…I can only assume its some basic protocol issue

in any case, thanks for help..maybe someone else will chime in…

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

Try with header blank, 6C10F1 and Auto.

I remember other 99 Chevys with Vortec
engines using 221301 pid without issue.
Just not sure about your vehicle. The first
7F22119312 response using Auto is general
response message indicating a failure to
read data.

Sorry couldn’t help you further.

https://torque-bhp.com/forums/?wpforumaction=viewtopic&t=5579.0

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

I dont see 221301 as an available option in the preconfigured list..

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

Its not included but users have the ability
to add their own as in that thread.

In that thread the OP was using header
6C10F1 header on his (2) 99 Chevys
successfully.

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

I have the extra PID set up (partially) in the managed section. I put ‘Signed’ in literally, for now, which clearly does not look right, but I don’t know what that means.. can you clarify..

for the some of the input fields indicated as labels, it said it was just used in the view only, so I just put TBD… but otherwise it is set up, will test once I understand ‘Signed’ aspect… thks

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

I tried it with literal “SIGNED” in the equation, it simply gave A=B=0 as parameter values and a 7F22130112 response

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

I just tried with after putting the RPM at 2000 (per some language in the other posting) and indeed got a response…so this custom PID seems to be working…not sure what this means as it applies to all the other GM PIDs though…thoughts?

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2861
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

Normally a hex byte can represent a
number from 0 to 255. The Signed function
takes the same byte and represents a
number from -128 to 127.

As I mentioned before the 7F… response
is a failed message. A successful response
would look like 62… as described in the
linked thread.

Not sure how to assist you further with
your vehicle.

Like I mentioned earlier I would test each
pid with different headers looking for a
62… response for supported pids.

I would also be curious if the plugin Torquescan
would find successful pids.

Curious if this is a tester present or diagnostics
enable issue?

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 27, 2018 (GMT)

I didnt see the last part of the previous message before..has to scroll.. In any case.. I had seen torquescan as an interesting plugin from within the available plugin menu previously..

I tried to access previously from within the app previously and every time I tried to log into google play, the keyboard for entering password would momentarily show and then disappear. I had to search on issue and it seems to be related to memory/proess capability of the device. So then I quit Torque and just went to Play Store directly (not from Torque) and was able to get the plugin. I just add this in case other people run into same issue.

So I was able to get Torquescan installed and a larger # of the GM PIDs were accessible!!

I looked at the scope of PIDs, which did seem to highlight the misfire (cylinder 1-8) info in green background and ran it for a few minutes, with no counts observed…(in reference to understanding my auto issue)

I also started a full PID scan from within Torquescan (from a submenu) but it was taking so long (but working), that the battery ran low so had to quit. (Again, the intent was to try to identify some PIDs to help debug rough performance). So rechaarging now and then will followup with some findings once recharged..

thanks for the push to resolve the torquescan hurdle though!

whatever1
Member
Posts: 12
Post Re: help Request: Import not working
on: September 28, 2018 (GMT)

Just a followup from yesterday.. fully charged device, went through all the available PID…

End result is the Torque scan seems to be giving me what it apparently available, unfortunately, its very limited for my vehicle and doesn’t really address my (lack of) performance issue.

The main information I was able to extract was that I do not seem to be getting any misfire faults (0 Counts across the board at 650 and 2000 rpm). I did notice today Im down on coolant at the reservoir (only 300 miles since topped off) so something is going on, no leaks observed, so suspect my slight shudder is more related to that…

In any case, I think we can close this thread out. @Capp777 thanks for the help…

…off to the TahoeForum to post on the performance issue and get some guidance there…

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.437 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter