Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Toyota A/T Shift Position PID

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
kctrey
Member
Posts: 9
Post Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: August 18, 2011 (GMT)

I found the following in a list of extended Toyota PIDs, but I am stumped as to how to get Torque to read only the shift position and display it.

F8 – STATE = (BYTE 3) – Shift Position
F8 – BIT IS 1 = BYTE 3(b4) – Lockup Soleniod
F8 – BIT IS 1 = BYTE 3(b5) – O/D Cut Soleniod

I am sure there is some way to do this, but bitmapped PIDs like this are new to me. The only other piece of info I have related to this PID is:

68 6A F1 01 E0 CS = Bitmapped for Sensor Pids (E1-FF)

But I don’t know if that means anything to anyone.

Matt
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 2, 2011 (GMT)

kctrey, this post sat idle for a couple of months. I hope you’ve made some progress.

I’m after the same data with a 2001 Toyota Sequoia (SUV built on Tundra frame & powertrain 2UZ-FE).

I won’t post the Toyota extended PID list (pre-2005 & pre-CAN). I will suggest a Google search for:

"68 6A F1 01 A0 CS"

From that list, F8 “State” might take some detective work. However, the F9 address request might be more fruitful.

F9 - BIT IS 1 = BYTE 3(b1) - Shift Position Switch in L
F9 - BIT IS 1 = BYTE 3(b2) - Shift Position Switch in 2ND
F9 - BIT IS 1 = BYTE 3(b3) - Shift Position Switch in R
F9 - BIT IS 1 = BYTE 4(b1) - Shift Position Switch in 3RD
F9 - BIT IS 1 = BYTE 4(b2) - Shift Position Switch in 4th/Drive 

We can probably interpret a bit rather than a bitmap.

I haven’t tried this out yet. My concern is that “Shift Position Switch” will give what is selected on the steering column and not what is selected in transmission. For example, select “D” and the transmission is in 1st gear, but the F9 BYTE 4(b2)is “1”.

I’ll update this when I get a chance.

Nexus S with unrooted 2.3.6
2001 Toyota Sequoia SR5 / 2004 Lexus RX-330

Matt
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 2, 2011 (GMT)

No Joy. Here’s what I tried:

PID: 01F9
Short name: Shift
Long name: Shift Position Test
Min: 0
Max: 255
Scale factor: x1
Unit: bit
Equation: A
Header: auto

ECU responded with 0.0

I think I see the issue: “A” is for the first byte(?) and I want the third and fourth bytes respectively. Also, I set the Max to 255 (8 bit), that may not be right.

Next try will be:

PID: 01F9
Short name: Shift
Long name: Shift Position Test
Min: 0
Max: 255
Scale factor: x1
Unit: bit
Equation: C
Header: auto

Nexus S with unrooted 2.3.6
2001 Toyota Sequoia SR5 / 2004 Lexus RX-330

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 2, 2011 (GMT)

Third byte, first bit (if I’m reading that correctly)

The equation parser can deal with ‘bits’. However I’ve not tested it…..

If you get a readings for ‘C’ (third byte) and want to get the ‘bit’ for use with the on/off gauge, try the entirely untested:

Equation: C & 256

(edit: the above was 10000000, but that was wrong, it should be a ^2 figure – ie: 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256)

Note: it may not work, it may work, it’s untested. It won’t work if C doesn’t come back with a value when the equation is just ‘C’ – you’ll need to get that working first.

Also, you may need to specifically set the header to: 686AF1 instead of ‘auto’

Matt
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 2, 2011 (GMT)

Ian, great application and great responsiveness. PayPal coming your way because I would have paid more for Torque. Keep up the great work.

I tried again without success:

PID: 01F9
Short name: Shift
Long name: Shift Position Test
Min: 0
Max: 255
Scale factor: x1
Unit: BIT IS 1
Equation: C
Header: auto and also with 686AF1

ECU responded with 0.0.

Since it is not replying “no data”, I assume my ECU is not polling the F8 address. This makes sense as the ECU seems to be focused on J1979 emissions related PID’s.

I’ll try a couple of PID’s with an emphasis on emissions:

E3 - MPa = (BYTE 3 * (816/255)) - Fuel Pressure

E9 - COUNT = (BYTE 3) - Misfire Cylinders #1 

ED - DEG = (BYTE 3 * (159/255)) - EGR Temperature 

Ian, I did try TorqueScan’s PID Scanner with the “auto” header without success. Might it be worth my time to scan with “686AF1”?

Nexus S with unrooted 2.3.6
2001 Toyota Sequoia SR5 / 2004 Lexus RX-330

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 2, 2011 (GMT)

Possibly, but the scanner doesn’t touch mode1 PIDs at the moment, only the upper mode 21/22 ones. I might sort that out when I get round to updating that plugin

Don’t need to donate to paypal :-) have a look at the torque widgets app if you feel like donating – you get something for it then! :-)

kctrey
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 2, 2011 (GMT)

If anyone wants a copy of the 21XX PID scan, email me: kctrey gmailcom

I took a scan of engine running in park and engine running in drive/first gear. It’s a 2011 Tacoma (CAN).

I am combing through the scan diff now trying to see if I can find a better value to use. Looks like I will be doing a lot of driving and watching sensors this evening :)

kctrey
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 2, 2011 (GMT)

Ok. Now I am puzzled. What equation would I use to get the value A (or AC) from the third line? Am I approaching this all wrong?

Command: 2141 response:
015
0:61412F672851
1:2800002CB32851
2:28782823000D0B
3:AC000000000000

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 3, 2011 (GMT)

Hi

The response is basically strung together, so ignore the 015, strip the ‘0:’, ‘1:’ and ‘2: and join all the lines together, then count A, B, C, D, E for each pair of XX you are looking for until you get to the one you want

When you hit Z for long responses, it then loops to AA, AB, AC, (etc)

So the sequence would be … X, Y, Z, AA, AB, AC, AD (etc)

Matt
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 5, 2011 (GMT)

Some updates and questions on my Toyota PID quest:

I now understand why many ODB-II products do not support Toyota enhanced PID’s. My experience, so far, indicates there is notable variation in PID support from model to model during the same “Toyota PID Protocol Era” (TPPE). For example, the suggested google search above for enhanced PID’s is for a 2004 Camry. My ’01 Sequoia is from the same TPPE (roughly 1996 – 2005) ISO 9141-2. My sample test efforts to get more data from my Sequoia’s ECU have been futile. The ECU responds with 0.0 ( and not “No Data”) when those PID’s are requested. I infer that to mean the ECU supports those PID addresses, but there is 0.0 assigned to them. I speculate Toyota ECU’s from the same TPPE are standardized PID’s, but which data is actually collected varies considerably among the models. Effectively, google-fu and trial and error can lead you to the point of “Oh, I guess my car/truck doesn’t gather that information.” This is disappointing when you’re able to see all the data the Prius community is able to collect from their ECU’s.

Nexus S with unrooted 2.3.6
2001 Toyota Sequoia SR5 / 2004 Lexus RX-330

Matt
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 5, 2011 (GMT)

Some questions:

  • Is it possible to use the PID 00 request for specific address ranges? I received 32 bit-string data of the PID’s supported for 686AF1 01 00. Can I transmit 686AF1 01 A0 00 to get PID’s supported for that range?
  • I am not using Telnet. I’m concerned about “bricking” my ECU, should I be?

Nexus S with unrooted 2.3.6
2001 Toyota Sequoia SR5 / 2004 Lexus RX-330

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: November 5, 2011 (GMT)

It’s extremely difficult to brick an ECU, the message is mostly for indemnity…

Telnet is okay (it can be a bit tempermental so you may have to restart it if it stops responding).

686AF1 <- that’s your header – you won’t usually need to type this

If you did ’01A0′, then that /should/ give you the list of PIDs for that range for Mode 01 requests.

zantets
Member
Posts: 1
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: August 10, 2013 (GMT)

hi this works fine on my 2002 toyota corolla:

PID: 01F8
Short name: Shift
Long name: Gear Position
Min: 0
Max: 255
Scale factor: x1
Unit: Gear
Equation: A
Header: auto

Mr.Lopes
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: August 11, 2013 (GMT)

Quote from zantets on August 10, 2013
hi this works on my 2002 toyota corolla:

PID: 01F8
Short name: Shift
Long name: Gear Position
Min: 0
Max: 255
Scale factor: x1
Unit: Gear
Equation: A
Header: auto

I’m looking for these display to my Toyota Corolla Xei 2003 A/T(Brazil). I’ll test this custom PID tonight in my car.

Toyota Corolla ALTIS 15 – Brazil
Torque Pro + Samsung J6

Mr.Lopes
Member
Posts: 6
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: September 15, 2014 (GMT)

Quote from MR.Lopes on August 11, 2013
Quote from zantets on August 10, 2013
hi this works fine on my 2002 toyota corolla:

PID: 01F8
Short name: Shift
Long name: Gear Position
Min: 0
Max: 255
Scale factor: x1
Unit: Gear
Equation: A
Header: auto

I’m looking for these display to my Toyota Corolla Xei 2003 A/T(Brazil). I’ll test this custom PID tonight in my car.

After a long time without Torque (I have a problem with my tablet and now I buy to my BB Z10), last weekend I found a problem in this Custom PID in my Corolla BR:
In freeway, high speed above 3th gear, the display shows “12” when I step on the throttle; shows “4” when I step off (slope down). My car have 4-speed automatic, and I don’t understand the “12” when I step on. By the sound, the transmission is in 4th gear.
I tried to change the max value to 4 in Custom PID settings, but this problem continues…

Sorry for my English.

Toyota Corolla ALTIS 15 – Brazil
Torque Pro + Samsung J6

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2859
Post Re: Toyota A/T Shift Position PID
on: September 13, 2018 (GMT)

You might try equation of A&7.

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.417 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter