Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Boost commanded PID?

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Boost commanded PID?
raichean
Member
Posts: 7
Post Boost commanded PID?
on: April 2, 2018 (GMT)

Forgive me if this is already laid out somewhere, but I was unable to find what I am looking for by searching FIRST.

I am running extensive logging on my BMW 435i N55, with a significant number of bolt ons and ECU flash tuning. I am working with the tuner to continue to make improvements and need more data.

One log I Am unable to find is Boost Commanded. I have Boost/vacuum values, but is there a PID for commanded?

Thank you

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1366
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 3, 2018 (GMT)

by what protocol are you connecting?
EOBD 15765-4 or or using the settings as in this topic
https://torque-bhp.com/forums/?wpforumaction=viewtopic&t=6277.0

moreause
Member
Posts: 435
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 4, 2018 (GMT)

I suspect the is no such thing as boost commanded these days

more like max torque and max boost

my 2 previous car ..would not have boost table

it was a max torque table … the boost was calculated accordingly

so in summer could be 15 psi and winter 12 psi to attain the same torque

but never saw these value on OBD … maybe in brand specific software

raichean
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 4, 2018 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on April 3, 2018
by what protocol are you connecting?
EOBD 15765-4 or or using the settings as in this topic
https://torque-bhp.com/forums/?wpforumaction=viewtopic&t=6277.0

I am unclear on how to answer this question.. for example the JB4 piggyback jump box has a “boost commanded” value and you can see what was sent, and what the turbo actually did.

I am running the Active Autowerke ECU flash tune now, with boost levels a lot higher than normal, and providing them logs. If there was a “boost commanded” value I could read, I could compare that against the “turbo boost and vacuum” PID of what is actually being done by the turbo. Not only would that check for a turbo leak if there was one, but show how efficient it is running.

So like the JB4 box, I am trying to figure out if any of the existing PIDs I can see are the boost commanded value.

For example, what is “turbo pressure control”? What is that measuring?

Is there a PID available for what I am looking for?

Thanks!

Capp777
Member
Posts: 2744
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 5, 2018 (GMT)

You might try creating your own custom
pid for Turbo Pressure Control [70] which
is mentioned in Wiki OBDII PIDs as Boost
Pressure Control and testing for its raw hex
response while connected in the pid editor.

If your vehicle supports it you would then
have to experiment with the response bytes
to determine if your answer lies within.

I consider Torque’s Turbo Pressure Control
a place holder until its bytes are properly
identified and scaled. (Wiki too).

You could also search the net to see if
anyone has already solved it.

Posting your raw hex response would be
helpful.

cintakc
Member
Posts: 1366
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 6, 2018 (GMT)

raichean,
by what protocol are you connecting in the Torque programm?

FntX
Member
Posts: 53
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 6, 2018 (GMT)

The BMW specific boost setpoint aka “Ladedrucksollwert” value is at PID: 2C1001F4 for N-Series engines
The unit is hPa and needs to be multiplied by 91.554

You need to enter this custom init command into your vehicle profile in order to get access to BMW specific PIDs:

AT PB E1 01\nAT CRA 612\nAT SH 6F1\nAT FC SH 6F1\nAT FC SD 12 30 0F 02\nAT FC SM1\nAT CEA 12\nAT CM 600\nAT H1\nAT SP B\nAT BI\nAT AL\n

See https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MkiFPEoZ-hOhyXc8z_Ne1rTBKd73xK3Z1gDt1SOvZ2I/edit?usp=sharing for more PIDs

raichean
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 7, 2018 (GMT)

Quote from cintakc on April 6, 2018
raichean,
by what protocol are you connecting in the Torque programm?

Forgive a basic question, but not sure how to answer what you are asking. I am using a generic Bluetooth adaptor, to the app running on my Samsung S8+. Where do I look for this info?

raichean
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 7, 2018 (GMT)

Quote from FntX on April 6, 2018
The BMW specific boost setpoint aka “Ladedrucksollwert” value is at PID: 2C1001F4 for N-Series engines
The unit is hPa and needs to be multiplied by 91.554

You need to enter this custom init command into your vehicle profile in order to get access to BMW specific PIDs:

AT PB E1 01\nAT CRA 612\nAT SH 6F1\nAT FC SH 6F1\nAT FC SD 12 30 0F 02\nAT FC SM1\nAT CEA 12\nAT CM 600\nAT H1\nAT SP B\nAT BI\nAT AL\n

See https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MkiFPEoZ-hOhyXc8z_Ne1rTBKd73xK3Z1gDt1SOvZ2I/edit?usp=sharing for more PIDs

Thank you for this info.. so this will give the list of BMW specific PIDs that I should be using rather than the (generic?) ones I am now?

I have gone through the app and cannot find where I would add that custom init command? My apologies.

*edit* Guessing the string goes in the “very advanced” ELM327 string area?

raichean
Member
Posts: 7
Post Re: Boost commanded PID?
on: April 7, 2018 (GMT)

So after adding that string to the very advanced field, I should add each custom sensor I want, correct?

Does this look correct?

OBD2 Mode and PID: 2C1001F4
Long Name: Boost Setpoint (or whatever you want)
Short Name: BstStpt (or whatever you want)
Minimum Value: 0 is fine for now, unless you know the minimum this PID can read
Maximum Value: 100 is fine for now, same as above
Scale Factor: x1
Unit Type: hpa
Equation: A*91.554

Pages: [1]
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.211 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter