Torque

Forums

Forums

Guest  

Show or hide header
Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.




Torque » Torque OBD ECU Scanner » Torque Discussion / Ideas » Web interface

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
Author Topic: Web interface
piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Web interface
on: April 28, 2010 (GMT)

Hi all,

Here’s a screenshot of what it going to be appearing sometime in the next few releases of Torque – bear in mind it’s got no units on it and I’ve just got the *basics* working so it is very plain, though you should be able to infer what is going on and what will be available when it is completed – there will be realtime views as well 😉

Anything you specifically want to see then feel free to post it in this thread – I may not reply immediately or at all, but I do read the threads regularly and try to get everyones ideas in.

Web interface screenshot:
http://ian-hawkins.com/images/webinterface.png

sgoertzen
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: Web interface
on: April 28, 2010 (GMT)

That looks great. A little rough but I can see the potential in it. Can’t wait to get my hands on it.

If you need any help beta testing or anything let me know.

rabidfurball
Member
Posts: 3
Post Re: Web interface
on: April 29, 2010 (GMT)

Wow, that’s really cool.

I, for one, would be happy to test this for you 😀

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Web interface
on: May 3, 2010 (GMT)

Hi!

The ‘basic’ release of the web viewer is now live on http://ian-hawkins.com/torque/

You’ll will need to update your torque with the latest one from the market so you can get your login ‘id’, there will probably be odd bugs (RPM isn’t displayed on there yet) but it will allow you to see your uploaded data

sgoertzen
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: Web interface
on: May 3, 2010 (GMT)

Just drove around some to test this out, it looks fantastic! I did not encounter any bugs or anything.

A few comments on it.

1. I would really like to see you put out a privacy policy for this data. I am a pretty open person, but it would be good to know you aren’t going to sell my driving habits to the highest bidder. One other concern is you now have my speed records in your database and I am sure as your app gets popular the state highway patrol would love to have access to it. Just having something saying you won’t sell me out would be nice. :)

2. The ability to pick a login and password would be great, then I wouldn’t have to look at my phone for my ID each time I want to get into the site.

3. The possibilities here are endless, would love to see a dashboard view with averages across all of my trips, the ability to share/compare with friends, a tie in to remind me to change my oil every 3000 miles, etc. I hope you continue to work on this for a while, as it definitely has the potential to be a awesome app.

Thanks for the awesome app,
Shawn

CoreyZ
Member
Posts: 11
Post Re: Web interface
on: May 3, 2010 (GMT)

I would agree with the privacy policy… DOnt really need to advertise my driving habits with anyone but myself.

Other than that if we could make the data configurable and show the info we want (like for me I would like to see throttle%, turbo boost and a couple others). All in all cool beans man!

Denver, CO, USA

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Web interface
on: May 3, 2010 (GMT)

Ha, yes, I haven’t really given a thought to a kind of privacy policy, but you have a *really* good point with driving habits thanks for pointing that out. I will state that it hasn’t crossed my mind to market your data to any company or law firm mainly because I’m too lazy and also wouldn’t know where to start looking to sell it :)

I think a privacy policy that “does no evil” should be ok, whereby you can opt in / out of sharing your data (some people may want to share track day info with others, etc). Ultimately I suppose you could post a track map on facebook if I added the function.

There should really be a ‘delete’ button for tracks that you don’t want to keep, as well as an ‘export’ function, they will get added at some point when I next get some free time to spend

I would put a setting of “Don’t upload when over this speed” however you could still work out an average speed from when you first went over and it stopped logging to coming back under and logging again (as you could do it by 2 GPS points and the time) so it would be a bit of a waste of time.

The data logged is quite small at the moment, only a set amount of info – A couple of people have already suggested being able to configure what is logged, I just need to get myself motivated to do it (it’s a bit monotonous to knock up the GUI for it). The Custom PID editor has some code I can re-use so maybe in the next release or two.

The ability to pick a login and password was there – however it wasn’t finished so I commented it out temporarily just so I could get something online that people could use. It’ll go in again when I get a spare moment

off to fix this landscape rotation bug that crept in :)

Glith
Member
Posts: 2
Post Re: Web interface
on: May 7, 2010 (GMT)

Where can I find examples of the torque.php?
I’d love to make my own website and report to that.

Thanks.

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Web interface
on: May 10, 2010 (GMT)

You’ll need to know PHP to be able to log to your own site probably some SQL knowledge as well.

I may put a modified version of torque.php up as an example so you can log to your own file realtime, but at the moment getting the core of Torque working for as many people as possible is the current priority, then adding extra features for the app. If you already know PHP it should already be a simple enough job. This would be the recording side only.

ScienceofSpock
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Web interface
on: May 25, 2010 (GMT)

Any update on an example torque.php script getting posted? I love the web interface, but I’d like to build my own, and the web interface here seems to not display graphs for data sets larger than around 500. The points are there if you mouse over the graph, the lines just don’t appear.

ScienceofSpock
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Web interface
on: May 25, 2010 (GMT)

Just to clarify on my previous post. It’s not datasets with > 500 lines that are refusing to show graphs as I had previously thought.

I just checked the csv data for my last 7 trips. 3 of them display the graph just fine and the other 4 don’t.
The one thing the 4 “broken” datasets have in common is that there is a NaN value early in the “Miles Per Gallon(Average)(mpg)” column, preceded by a few rows of “-“.

The working datasets also contain these leading “-” rows, but no NaN values. I’m guessing this is causing issues in the graphing software (How do you plot NaN?).

ScienceofSpock
Member
Posts: 9
Post Re: Web interface
on: June 10, 2010 (GMT)

Ian,
I hate to seem impatient, but is there any update on an example script? I’d really like to start working on my own log parser.
If nothing else, can you explain how the data gets sent from the phone to the website?
Does it just upload the csv file to a file upload script?
What form fields does it use?

Thanks,
SoS

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Web interface
on: June 10, 2010 (GMT)

Hi, sorry I’ve not got back sooner

The php script is literally just reading the query string part of the URL – you should be able to see this quite easily by configuring Torque to try to upload to a webserver you control and then examining the logs.

The query string is fairly straightforward. Some parameters are as follows:

session: The ID of the current logging session in Torque, this changes if you quit the app and / or reconnect. It is used to group the ‘travel runs’ together.

id: This is the ID of the device uploading. It is the MD5 product of the device IMEI or bluetooth/wifi (only the hash is stored).

time: This is the time of the log entry.

k[XXXX]: This is the value of the PID being logged. These should now not change and should remain as static IDs for the parameter being logged. The parameters for GPS should be straightforward to work out if you get a script working and examine the logs. Other IDs are based on the PID being logged.

Each second (will be configurable) uploads a log entry to the server. This seems to work particularly well, and allows for realtime viewing / uploading, plus there is no long ‘please wait while I upload a 4M file’ at the end of the run as it should already be there.

At the moment the PID list is static. However in the next few releases this will be configurable like the file based logger allowing you to log any PID you want (including custom PIDs).

Dependant on the speed of the ECU communication bus (and the ECU), you may be able to log up to 20 PIDs / second, or if you are unlucky and have a really slow ECU / Comms bus combo you may only be able to log up to 4 PIDs / second. This is a limitation of the ECU and not Torque (Torque can log over 200 PIDs / second).

The website is going to get another upgrade in the next month or so – I am currently heavily involved in another web project which is due out soon, once this is out of the way then I will have time to start work on Torques web viewer. There are a number of cool features that I am looking forward to putting in this.

hoppi05
Member
Posts: 18
Post Re: Web interface
on: June 23, 2010 (GMT)

Guys is this facility work yet? as i could not log in yesterday?

cheers

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Web interface
on: June 23, 2010 (GMT)

I am having same problem can’t log in….
I went into settings and selected the pids I wanted to log…
Then I selected toggle logging torque said logging…
T ihen driver around and then click toggle logging then quit torque..
When I try to sign in with my id it doesn’t let me log in….
Is there a way you could tell us what needs to be selected in settings
And what to do so that it will log and we can sign in…

THANKS
Also ian…will the dyno section also have the ability to upload as well?
Also if you need my torque id let me know and I’ll email it to you

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Web interface
on: August 9, 2010 (GMT)

Ian,
any idea why this is not working???
i cant sign in.. i am on a different device now with different device id and still getting the same message… can you please let me know what needs to be selected and what doesnt need to be selected in order to get this to work??

also why cant i sign in??
do i need to register or???

please let me know!

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Web interface
on: August 17, 2010 (GMT)

Still having trouble logging in….

piemmm
Administrator
Posts: 6082
Post Re: Web interface
on: August 18, 2010 (GMT)

Hi, sorry I’ve missed this one.

The ‘toggle logging’ option in the menus is for local file based logging only, I will change the text to reflect this in the next versions.

You need to go into the settings and ensure “Upload to webserver” is checked, otherwise nothing will be logged. Torque will automatically log information to the webserver when this option is selected.

Make sure the webserver url is correct as well, it should be:

http://ian-hawkins.com/torque.php

If it’s not then you’ll need to change it to that, then assuming you have a data connection, your phone should log and then you will be able to login

Ian

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Web interface
on: August 19, 2010 (GMT)

Okay thanks I will giver that a try

EP3N3WP
Member
Posts: 28
Post Re: Web interface
on: August 25, 2010 (GMT)

Okay that worked perfectly… Very impressed.. Can’t wait to see what else I can do with this ….

Ps..
Any way to change speed to mph on web?

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
WP-Forum by: Fredrik Fahlstad, Version: 2.4
Page loaded in: 0.465 seconds.

  Follow me on twitter